Important Notice from the Nebraska Public Service Commission

Please visit the PSC COVID-19 Information & Guidance page for the latest from the PSC during the ongoing pandemic.

Quick Links

Next Generation 911

NG911 GraphicNext Generation 911 (NG911) is a secure Internet Protocol (IP) based system, utilizing high speed data connectivity capable of receiving information to include voice, text messages, pictures and videos. A statewide  NG911 system once implemented will also allow for seamless information sharing between citizens and 911 centers.

In 2018, state lawmakers passed LB 993 approving the 911 Service System, Next Generation 911 (NG911) Master Plan. With the approval of the NG911 Master Plan the role of the PSC shifted from administration of the E911 fund to the implementation and operation of a statewide NG911 system. A 16-member 911 Service System Advisory Committee was appointed and will play a key role in the transition to a statewide system. The Committee is tasked with making recommendations to the Commission on the implementation, coordination, operation, management, maintenance and funding related to NG911 in Nebraska.

State 911 Department Meeting/Hearing Information

911 Service System Advisory Committee Application

There currently are no openings on the 911 SSAC.
Continue to check back for openings should they become available.
911 Service System Advisory Committee Application ​



2020- 911 Service System Advisory Committee (SSAC) Meeting Schedule

911 Service System Advisory Committee (SSAC) Meeting Information

911 Service System Advisory Committee

The 911 Service System Advisory Committee, created by the passage of LB 993 will make recommendations to the PSC on matters concerning the implementation, coordination, operation, management and funding of the 911 Service System as the state transitions to Next Generation 911.

The Advisory Committee consists of 14 members appointed by the Commission will serve for a term of three-years. The members represent public safety agencies (4), county officials or employees (2), municipal officials or employees (2), telecommunications industry (2), Public Safety Answering Points (2), Nebraska Association of County Officials (1), League of Nebraska Municipalities (1). The State 911 Director and the Office of the Chief Information Officer CEO also sit on the committee. For a total of 16 members.

A listing of Advisory Committee members is below:                                                           




Michael Bauer Norfolk Public Safety/Law Enforcement
Troy Shoemaker Alliance Public Safety/Fire
Stan Shearer Omaha Public Safety/EMS
Jon Rosenlund Grand Island Public Safety/Emergency Mgt.
Neil Miller Kearney/Buffalo Co. County Official
Stuart DeLaCastro Papillion- Sarpy Co. County Official
Shelly Holzerland Fremont City Official
Carla Jones Beatrice City Official
Kathy Allen Omaha-Douglas Co. PSAP
Brent Lottman Auburn- Nemaha Co. PSAP
John Osborne Lincoln   Telecommunications
Brian Thompson Lincoln  Telecommunications
Randy Obermier York NACO
Shane Weidner Norfolk LONM
Sue Krogman Lincoln OCIO- NEMA Rep.
David Sankey Lincoln State 911 Director

Next Generation 911 Master Plan

In April, 2018, LB 993 was signed into law, authorizing the PSC to proceed with the 911 Service System Act, Next Generation 911 Master plan for the implementation of NG911 services in Nebraska.

 911 Service System- NG911 Master PlanNG911MasterPlan

PSAP Regionalization

Georgraphic Information Systems (GIS)

Click Here for information related to NG-911 and Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

2021 Agendas

Back To Top