Quick Links

History of the Commission

The Nebraska Public Service Commission (PSC) is a constitutionally created executive body established under Article IV, Section 20 of the Nebraska Constitution. The Commission is comprised of five elected Commissioners serving six-year terms. The Commission was initially created by the Unicameral in 1885 to regulate railroads, but was not firmly established until the passage of a constitutional amendment in 1906 creating a three member elected Railway Commission. Membership was increased to five Commissioner in 1964 and the state was divided into five districts, each to elect a commissioner. The name was changed to the Public Service Commission by a general election vote in 1972.

Today, the PSC regulates telecommunications carriers, natural gas jurisdictional utilities, major oil pipelines, railroad safety, household goods movers and passenger carriers, grain warehouses and dealers, construction of manufactured and modular homes and recreational vehicles, high voltage electric transmission lines, and private water company rates. The Commission also oversees and administers several statutorily created funds with specific legislative purposes and goals including the Nebraska Universal Service Fund (NUSF), the 911 Service System Fund, and the Nebraska Telecommunications Relay System (TRS) Fund.

The Commission is active on local, state, and national levels and contributes on all levels to determine policy regarding the future of communications and universal service. Many Commissioners, past and present, have served on boards, committees, and advisory groups to recommend and give insight on policy matters to both state and federal agencies and legislative bodies.

PSC FrontCommission Business Hours: Monday-Friday 8 a.m- 5 p.m.

Back To Top