Our philosophy is to pursue excellence in providing quality service to the residents and businesses of the State of Nebraska. We strive to be knowledgeable, efficient, and helpful with a focus on excellent customer service. All to safeguard life, health, property and public welfare by controlling the construction and quality of materials used in manufactured homes, modular housing units and recreational vehicles through the administration and enforcement of the applicable adopted construction codes.
Mark Luttich has served for more than 20-years as the Director of the Housing and Recreational Vehicle Department for the Nebraska Public Service Commission. A graduate of the University of Nebraska in Architectural Studies, he has held leadership roles on numerous state and national committees representing both the manufactured housing and recreational vehicle industries. Honored with SP Benson Building Official of the Year Award (2006), he is also a two-time recipient of the Recreational Vehicle Industry Association (RVIA) Distinguished Achievement Award in RV Standards (2000 & 2005).
The United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Manufactured Home Act (Act) regulates the construction of all manufactured (mobile) homes built in the United States. This HUD Act also oversees the enforcement of the construction standards through public and private plan review and inspection agencies. HUD accepts the State of Nebraska’s manufactured home plan review, factory inspection and consumer complaint assistance.
If you are a manufacturer of manufactured homes within the State of Nebraska please be aware that the State of Nebraska is an “exclusive” factory inspection agency (IPIA) thus all manufacturers within the State of Nebraska are required to utilize the State of Nebraska IPIA services.
Please click here for the Manufactured Homes Plan Approval Application.
LABEL FEE - Present label fee is $400.00 per label.
For more information:
Modular housing units are factory-built homes transported on a trailer or frame to the final site when the trailer or frame is removed. The home is then taxed as real property. These homes whether built or sold in the State of Nebraska will display the Nebraska Modular Housing Unit label in one of the home's windows. If you are a manufacturer of modular housing units desiring to build or offer for sale modular housing units in Nebraska, please click on the following links for forms and regulations.
CODES - The adopted codes are the 2015 edition of the International Codes (IRC with amendments, IBC, IPC, IMC, IFGC) and the 2017 edition of the National Electrical Code (NEC).
LABEL FEE - Present label fee is 19-cents per square foot of home built at the factory (including any factory-built porches, decks and garages).
NEW MANUFACTURERS - If your company is making application to build or deliver modular housing units into the State of Nebraska for the first time, the plan application form (see the “Forms” link below) has a one-time application fee of $1,800.00. There are no future plan submittal fees assessed.
Recreational vehicles include recreational use vehicles such as travel trailers, fifth-wheel trailers, motor homes, pop-up campers, truck campers, park trailers, etc. Recreational vehicles sold in Nebraska will display the Nebraska Recreational Vehicle label affixed near the entrance door on the exterior.
If you are a manufacturer of recreational vehicles desiring to display and/or offer for sale recreational vehicles in the State of Nebraska, please click on the following links for forms and regulations.
CODES - The adopted codes are the Standard for Recreational Vehicles (NFPA 1192, 2015 edition) or the Standard for Recreational Park Trailers (ANSI A119.5, 2015 edition) and the American National Standard Uniform Plan Approval for Recreational Vehicles (ANSI/RVIA UPA-1, 2009 edition).
LABEL FEE - Present label fee is $20.00 per label.
PLAN REVIEW FEE -
New Model - $20.00 each.
Q.A. Manual - $40.00.
Typical - $10.00.
Revision - $15.00.
Calculation - $15.00.
Initial Package - $300.00.
Yearly Renewal - $40.00.
NEW MANUFACTURERS - If your company is making application to display or offer for sale recreational vehicles in the State of Nebraska for the first time, the plan application form (see the “Forms” link below) has a one-time application fee of $300.00 identified as “Initial Package”. Future submittals are assessed fees as identified on the form.