Quick Links

PSC Seeks to Fill Vacancies on 911 Service System Advisory Committee

PSC Seeks to Fill Vacancies on 911 Service System Advisory Committee


PSC Seeks to Fill Vacancies on
911 Service System Advisory Committee

Lincoln, July 16, 2019 – The Nebraska Public Service Commission
(PSC) is accepting applications to fill two vacancies on the 911
Service System Advisory Committee (911 SSAC). The two
vacancies are for representatives in public safety
(law enforcement representative) and the telecommunications

Created by the legislature with the passage of LB993, the Advisory
Committee makes recommendations to the PSC on matters
concerning the implementation, coordination, operation,
management, maintenance and funding of the 911 Service System
as the state transitions to Next Generation 911 (NG911).

“We would like to thank both Owen Yardley of Lincoln, and Ann
Prockish of Omaha for their contributions to the committee over the
past year,” said David Sankey, State 911 Director. “Committee input
plays an invaluable role as we continue to move forward with plans
for the implementation of NG911 in Nebraska.”

If you are either a representative of a public safety agency
(law enforcement) or the telecommunications industry and are
interested in becoming a part of the 911 SSAC, apply online by filling
out a 911 Service System Advisory Committee (911 SSAC)
on the PSC website.Applications must be received by the
close of business (5:00 p.m.) on Tuesday, July 30.

The 911 SSAC consists of 14 members appointed by the PSC. Of the
14 members, four are representatives of public safety agencies, two
are county officials or employees, and two are municipal officials or
employees.There are two representatives of the telecommunications
industry, two members from Public Safety Answering Points
(PSAPs) and one representative each from the Nebraska Association
of County Officials (NACO) and the League of Nebraska
Municipalities (LONM). Advisory committee members serve a term
of three years. Committee members serve without pay, but will
receive reimbursement for expenses related to Committee duties.

Deb Collins- Media & Communications Mgr.
(402) 471-0226

911 SSAC

Back To Top