Quick Links

PSC Announces Excellence in Leadership Award Recipients

PSC Announces Excellence in Leadership Award Recipients



Lincoln, October 24, 2023- The Nebraska Public Service Commission
(PSC) is pleased to honor Matt Effken, Agency Legal Counsel, and
Laurie Casados, Budget, and Finance Manager, as its 2023 State
of Nebraska Excellence in Leadership Award recipients.

A member of the Commissions legal team since 2016, Effken has
served as the primary attorney for the State 911 Department. In
his role Effken has been instrumental in helping the State 911
Department and the 911 Centers across the state in the transition
from a Legacy 911 system to a Next Generation 911 system.

“Matt has a strong desire to improved public safety for the citizens
of Nebraska,” said PSC Executive Director Thomas Golden. “An
outstanding communicator, he has played a key role in all aspects
of the Commission’s effort as it works to bring the next generation
of 911 services to the state.”

In her role as Budget, and Finance Manager, Casados has proven
she can adapt and respond to extreme challenges. Her ability to
research grant requirements and regulations along with her in-
depth knowledge of broadband proved to be essential to the
successful implementation of two large and complex federal grants.

Golden said, “Laurie has shown herself to be an invaluable member
of our team. She has an innate desire to learn and grow and is
always welcoming of a challenge.”

A reception honoring the 2023 Nebraska Excellence in Leadership
Award recipients was held on October 24, at the Governor’s
residence. ###

Deb Collins- Communications & Media Mgr.
(402) 471-0226

Excellence in Leadership Honorees

Back To Top