BEFORE THE NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In the Matter of the Nebraska Public)	Application No. NUSF-111
Service Commission, on its own Motion, to)	
determine a rate design and address)	a self of the season
implementation issues with a connections-)	- LOEIVED
based contribution mechanism.)	Course Course
)	MAR 2 3 2018
·		< 3 2018

REPLY COMMENTS OF THE RURAL TELECOMMUNICATIONS COALITION OF NEBRASKA

On December 19, 2017, the Nebraska Public Service Commission ("Commission") released an *Order Opening Docket and Seeking Comment* ("Order"), commencing proceeding on its own motion to begin the next phase of contribution reform. In that order, the Commission seeks comments on rate design and implementation issues with connections-based contribution mechanism with initial comments due on January 30, 2018. After reviewing initial comments, Hearing Officer Frank Landis found that reply comments may be useful. Originally, the deadline for reply comments was March 16, 2018. In an order entered February 23, 2018, the Commission extended that deadline to March 23, 2018. The Rural Telecommunications Coalition of Nebraska ("RTCN")¹ submits these reply comments in response to the Order ("Comments").

The RTCN appreciates the Commission's diligence in moving forward with contributions reform. Reform is critical to stabilizing the Nebraska Universal Service Fund ("NUSF"), which, in turn, is critical to ensuring "[q]uality telecommunications and

¹ For purposes of this proceeding, RTCN is made up of the following carriers: Arapahoe Telephone Company d/b/a ATC Communications, Benkelman Telephone Company, Inc., Cambridge Telephone Company Telephone Company, Diller Telephone Company, Glenwood Network Services, Inc., The Glenwood Telephone Membership Corporation, Hartman Telephone Exchanges, Inc., Hemingford Cooperative Telephone Co., Mainstay Communications, Pierce Telephone Co., Inc., Plainview Telephone Company, Southeast Nebraska Communications, Inc., Wauneta Telephone Company, and WesTel Systems f/k/a Hooper Telephone Company.

information services [are] available at just, reasonable, and affordable rates...in all regions

of the state.2 The RTCN submitted comments in NUSF-100 addressing many of the issues

raised in the Order. At this time, the RTCN will not restate those comments, but reserves

its rights to present them, supplement them, and offer testimony and evidence as the

Commission progresses with this proceeding. The RTCN encourages the Commission to

move forward with this proceeding expeditiously and be mindful of its statutory obligation

to ensure that "[a]ll providers of telecommunications should make an equitable and

nondiscriminatory contribution to the preservation and advancement of universal service."3

Dated: March 23, 2018.

² Neb. Rev. Stat. § 86-323(1) – (3).

³ Neb. Rev. Stat. § 86-323(4).

2

RURAL TELECOMMUNICATIONS COALITION OF NEBRASKA

ATC Communications, Benkelman
Telephone Company, Inc., Cambridge
Telephone Company, Cozad Telephone
Company, Diller Telephone Company,
Glenwood Network Services, Inc., The
Glenwood Telephone Membership
Corporation, Hartman Telephone
Exchanges, Inc., Hemingford Cooperative
Telephone Co., Mainstay
Communications, Pierce Telephone Co.,
Inc., Plainview Telephone Company,
Southeast Nebraska Communications,
Inc., Wauneta Telephone Company, and
WesTel Systems

By: REMBOLT LUDTKE LLP
3 Landmark Centre
1128 Lincoln Mall, Suite 300
Lincoln, NE 68508
(402) 475-5100
apollock@remboltlawfirm.com
tkirk@remboltlawfirm.com

By:

Andrew S. Pollock (#19872) Troy S. Kirk (#22589)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that an original and five copies of the foregoing Reply Comments of the Rural Telecommunications Coalition of Nebraska were filed with the Public Service Commission on March 23, 2018, and a copy was served via electronic mail, to the following:

Cullen Robbins

Cullen.robbins@nebraska.gov

Brandy.zierott@nebraska.gov

Blake Johnson Windstream

blake@bruninglawgroup.com

Michael Lozich

Brandy Zierott

Securus

mlozich@securustechnologies.com

Paul Schudel

RIC

pschudel@woodsaitken.com

Deonne Bruning

Cox

deonnebruning@neb.rr.com

Loel Brooks

CTIA

lbrooks@brookspanlaw.com

Jill Gettman CenturyLink

jgettman@gettmanmills.com

Russell Westerhold

Charter

rwesterhold@fraserstryker.com

Nicholas Niemann

Teleservices Association of

International

nniemann@mcgrathnorth.com

-15 Pellele

Scott Bohler

Frontier Communications

Scott.bohler@ftr.com

Andrew S. Pollock