911 Service System Advisory Committee Meeting

October 24, 2018 Meeting convenes 1:00 PM at The Nebraska Public Service Commission Hearing Room 1200 N Street 300 the Atrium Lincoln, NE 68509 Public comments maybe received after each agenda item. <u>Meeting Minutes</u>

Meeting called to order - Statement regarding Open Meetings Act *(posted)* – 911 Director Dave Sankey opened the meeting (1300)

<u>Roll Call:</u>

Stu DeLaCastro	Р	Р	Karla Rupiper
Shelly Holzerland	Р	Р	Dave Sankey
Carla Jones	Р	Р	Troy Shoemaker
Brent Lottman	Р	Р	David Sleeter
Neil Miller	Р	Р	Andrew Snodgrass
Randy Obermier	Р	Р	Brian Thompson
Ann Prockish	Р	Α	Ed Toner
Jon Rosenlund	Р	Р	Owen Yardley

Present from the Public Service Commission:

Commissioner Tim Schram Attorney Matt Effken 911 Admin Coordinator Tina Bartlett 911 Field Coordinator Troy Cordle 911 Accountant Kathy Shepard Internal Auditor Lynda Roesler Financial Manager Laurie Casados Policy Analyst Victor Kapustin Communications/Media Deb Collins

Committee Member Information: Dave Sankey spoke about the by-laws and asked if there was any discussion on them. Attorney Matt Effken addressed questions from the committee regarding video conferencing. A discussion was held on amending the by-laws to give notice of the date, time, place and subject of meeting to members 5 days

prior notice of meeting, instead of the three (3) that is currently proposed in the bylaws.

Adoption of By-Laws – The vote to adopt the by-laws was unanimous with all of the 14 voting members voting aye. **Motion carries**.

Election of Committee Officers – A nomination for Neil Miller to be the Chairman was made. Stu DeLaCastro made motion. A second by Andrew Snodgrass Votes: 14 aye *(Unanimous)* **Motion Carries**

A nomination for Stu DeLaCastro to be Vice Chairman was made. Motion by Neil Miller. A second by Brian Thompson. Votes: 14 aye *(Unanimous)* Motion Carries

Chair - Neil Miller Vice Chair- Stu DeLaCastro

Consideration of the minutes:

August 22, 2018 1:00 PM at the PSC hearing room – Andrew Snodgrass motioned to approve the minutes from last meeting, Brian Thompson seconded the motion. The vote to accept the minutes twelve (12) aye, two (2) abstain. **Motion carries.**

Updates: by Dave Sankey

1. RFP's

- a. **GIS QA/QC** West Safety Services was offered the "Intent to Award". A contract for services is pending execution.
- b. **Consultant** Bids have been presented are currently in the evaluation process for a consultant to assist with NB 911 implementation. Hope to have a contract in place by the end of the year.

2. Regionalization -

a. Field Coordinator Troy Cordle gave an update on the PSAP regionalization process

New Business:

 ECaTs Presentation- Jim Crichton & Tiffany Chambers from ECats gave a presentation on the capabilities of the product- Motion was offered by Jon Rosenlund to have Director Dave Sankey and the PSC 911 investigate further into pricing and how the product would be offered, statewide. Owen Yardley seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous all ayes. Motion carried.

- 2. Funding Dave Sankey
 - a. Overview/History Director Sankey provided a presentation to the committee on the history of the E911 fund, LB's 938, 993, and the transition to the 911 Service System.

Grant Update- Federal Grant available to states and tribal organizations. Two main requirements 1) must be able to certify that no 911 funds have been diverted. 20 Must submit a plan for the intended use of the funds. Step 1 has been completed. Waiting on the announcement from NHTSA/NTIA on Step 2.

Stu DeLaCastro made the motion at Director Sankey's discretion to apply for the funding with the intent of spending the funds on consultant costs. If supplemental funds are available, the Director Sankey shall consult with the committee regarding the application for those additional dollars. Dave Sleeter seconded the motion. **Motion carried** with all members voting aye.

Schedule Next Meeting: The next meeting is scheduled for January 16, 2019

Adjourn: Chairman Neil Miller adjourned the meeting at 1607