911 Service System Advisory Committee Meeting

May 15, 2019
Meeting convenes 1:00 PM at
The Golds Building
1033 O Street Room 534
Lincoln, NE

MINUTES

Meeting called to order - Statement regarding Open Meetings Act (copies along with the agenda will be available in the room on the day of the meeting)

By: Chair Neil Miller Time: 1304

ROLL CALL:

C. V.C.

ROLL CALL.					
Neil	Miller	Р	Ε	Karla	Rupiper
Stu	DeLaCastro	Ε	Р	Dave	Sankey
Shelly	Holzerland	Р	Ε	Troy	Shoemaker
Carla	Jones	P	Р	David	Sleeter
Brent	Lottman	Ε	Ε	Andrew	Snodgrass
Randy	Obermier	P	Р	Brian	Thompson
Ann	Prockish	Р	Ε	Ed	Toner
Jon	Rosenlund	P	Р	Owen	Yardley

Present from the Public Service Commission: *Commissioner Schram, Matt Effken, Deb Collins, Tina Bartlett, Kathy Shepard, Lynda Roesler, Ed Rosenau*

<u>Consideration of the minutes:</u> April 17, 2019 1200 N Street 300 the Atrium PSC Hearing Room Lincoln, NE

Owen Yardley asked that the minutes be corrected to list him as the Operations Working Group Chairman. Motion to accept minutes with that correction by: David Sleeter

Second by: Randy Obermier Votes: 9 yes, 5 absent-excused Motion Carries

Old Business/Updates: A draft ECaTS sharing agreement was presented to the Committee for their consideration. It was agreed that the PSC would have access to call summary data, such as, data that is necessary to collect and report to the Legislature and data necessary to monitor a statewide system. The agreement identifies that the PSAP is the owner of the data and that any public records request would be directed to the PSAP for response.

Jon Rosenlund made the motion for the State 911 Department of the Nebraska Public Service Commission pursue obtaining ECaTS and Commission approval to purchase it for all PSAPs in the state.

2nd by: Shelly Holzerland Votes: 8 yes, 5 absent/excused, 1 abstain

Grant Update by: Director Sankey informed the committee that the final NG 911 grant announcement should be available in mid-June. The plan is to use the money on 1. Consultant 2. ECaTS 3. ESInet 4. NG Core Services

<u>Working Group Updates by:</u> Molly Falls from MCP informed the Committee that 2 of the 5 working groups have been formed Brian Thompson has stepped down as Vice Chair of the Technical Working Group to eliminate any potential concerns of conflict of interest.

<u>Technical Working Group members:</u> Chair Neil Miller, Alma Beland, Kimberly Kuszak, Steve Reeves, Kent Eitzmann, Jim Sheets.

<u>GIS Working Group Members:</u> Chair Brent Lottman, Vice Chair Troy Shoemaker, Eric Herbert, Brent Kuszak, Nick Nolte, Jeff McRenolds, Chad Boshart, Jared Burkholder.

<u>Funding Working Group:</u> Jon Rosenlund is the Chair and Randy Obermier is Vice Chair currently accepting nominations to participate with this group. Eric Caddy with MCP will be assisting in this group. Discussion was held about waiting until we get the RFP out to see what the costs will be before deciding on how to fund it. Eric Caddy – MCP will have some hard numbers from the work completed in other states. Director Sankey – gave an explanation on how the Legacy System works and discussed the importance of a new funding mechanism being in place prior to contracting with vendors.

<u>Working Group Objectives -</u> Molly Falls continued discussing each working groups objectives:

<u>Technology Objectives</u> – Release ESInet and NGCS RFP, Identify ESInet and NGCS vendor(s), Evaluate need, establish requirements and specifications for a call handling equipment RFP.

<u>GIS Objectives</u> – Develop and communicate Workflow documents, PSAP Boundary, Provisioning Boundary, ESZ Boundary, and SLA/ILA.

<u>Funding Objectives</u> – Identify the funding models that support the future funding needs for the 911 service System.

<u>Training Objectives</u> – Develop minimum training requirements for the state. Establish a state certification process for Telecommunicators.

<u>Operations Objectives</u> – Develop uniform policies and procedures for statewide use to help ensure consistency across the state. Develop model Continuity of Operations (COOP) and Disaster Recovery (DR) plans for local jurisdictions. Inform, training, support development efforts associated with COOP and DR

<u>Working Group Guidelines:</u> <u>Structure</u> – each group should consist of 5-7 members, with MCP/PSC support. A SSAC member should chair the group with a second SSAC member as vice chair. Working group members can participate in only one working group.

Operations – Kick off and voting meetings should be in person. Other meetings could be via Conference Bridge. MCP will distribute the agendas for each work group meeting to the working group members at least one day in advance of the meeting. The working groups are not under the same guidelines as "the open meetings act." Meeting materials and notes will be shared with the groups via the SSAC private link on the PSC website. The meeting notes will be captured and distributed by MCP for each meeting. Attendance is important to these working group meetings, excessive absenteeism may result in permanent replacement of that person in the group they are in.

Roles and Responsibilities – Members should complete any necessary preparation in advance of each working group meeting. Maintain open mind regarding agenda items. Focus on solutions to advance NG911 in the state of Nebraska. Keep constituents informed as appropriate during the process. Provide status update at the SSAC meetings.

<u>Decision Making</u> – Members need to strive to reach agreement through consensus. Outside participation is needed to support a conflict; MCP will facilitate the discussion to help reach a decision. If consensus is not met, the working group will use voting to help reach a decision.

<u>Training Working Group and The Operations Working Group:</u> These groups will probably not kick off until late summer or early fall. After Funding and Technical Groups have worked out some of their stuff. Here are list of members so far:

<u>Training Work Group:</u> Chair is Shelly Holzerland, Vice Chair Carla Jones, Cindy Lacy, Karen Green, Heidi Gillespie, and Leila Luft.

<u>Operations Working Group:</u> Chair is Owen Yardley; Vice Chair is Stu DeLaCastro, William Muldoon, and LT. Robert Tubbs.

(At this time MCP was finished with the working groups and the SSAC Chair Neil Miller resumed the meeting agenda)

Member Comments: Director Sankey – Discussed with the Committee the idea of broadcasting future meetings on Facebook Live so others that can't travel to Lincoln can observe the meeting. The Committee members were in favor of pursuing this option for the next meeting. Thanked everyone for attending the meeting in the Golds Building.

Public Comments:

Schedule the next meeting:
room.

None

June 26, 2019 1300/1:00pm at the PSC in the hearing

<u>Adjourn Meeting:</u> 1412 *(2:12pm)* Meeting Adjourned by Chair Neil Miller