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What is an Automatic Dialing-
Announcing Device?

An Auto Dialer is any device that: 

 Randomly selects and dials a telephone number

and

 Plays a recorded message

**Note** - If  a live person is involved, either in 
dialing the number or playing the recorded 
message, it is not considered an Auto Dialer 
call.



What are Robo Calls?

Calls made with an Auto 
Dialer have been dubbed 

informally 

“Robo Calls.”



The Law

Auto Dialers are regulated in Nebraska 
pursuant to the 

Automatic Dialing-Announcing Devices Act 
(ADAD Act)

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 86-236 – 86-257



Rules & Regulations

Commission Auto Dialer Rules & Regulations can be found 
at:

Title 291 NAC Ch. 11

Available on Commission’s website:

www.psc.nebraska.gov



Who does the ADAD Apply to?

 In Nebraska, any person using an Auto 
Dialer to place calls to Nebraska citizens, 
with some limited exceptions, must be 
authorized to do so by the Commission.

 The location of  the Auto Dialer is irrelevant.



Permit vs. Registration

 Nebraska law has 2 categories of  licenses:

 Permits – for those using Auto Dialers for the 
purpose of  soliciting business (i.e. Telemarketers)

 Registrations – for those using Auto Dialers for 
any purpose other than solicitations (i.e. Political 
calls, Non-profit fundraising) 



Permits

 Only applies to those doing telephone 
solicitations (telemarketing)

 Solicitation is defined as:  “encouraging the 
purchase or rental of, investment in, property, 
goods, or services”

 Has a $500 application fee

 Must maintain a “Do Not Call List”

 Have five days to submit script changes

 Good for 2 years



Registrations

 Calls for purposes other than solicitations

 No application fee

 Not required to maintain a “Do Not Call List”

 Have 24 hours to submit script changes

 Good for 2 years



Exceptions to Registrations

 The ADAD Act includes 4 exceptions to 
registration

 No registration required if  meet one of  the four 
following exceptions



#1 Business or Personal 
Relationship
 Established: prior or existing relationship formed by 

voluntary two-way communication, with or without 
consideration, not previously terminated by either 
party.

 Must be sufficient contact between parties to evidence 
relationship

 Personal is limited to calls from individuals with 
whom the called party has a personal or at least 
firsthand relationship.

 Registering to vote, voting, making a donation are 
NOT sufficiently established relationships



Relationship Examples

Business Examples:  

 Insurance Company calling current policy holders 
about past due premiums or other insurance 
products 

 Drug stores calling to inform customers orders are 
ready for pick-up

 Doctor offices calling patients to remind and 
confirm appointments.

Personal Example:  

 A Church or religious organization calling 
members about service time changes 

 Charity groups reminding volunteers of  project 
start times



#2 Schools

Messages from educational institutions to its 
students, parents, or employees, includes: 

 Elementary 

 Secondary

 Postsecondary 



#3 Employers

 Message from employers to employees advising 
of  work schedules



#4 Political Subdivisions
Messages from a political subdivision.

 i.e. - Severe weather alerts, construction 
information

Political Subdivisions include:
 Villages

 Cities of  all classes

 Counties

 School Districts

 Learning Communities

 Public Power Districts

 All other units of  local government

*Does NOT include contractors with political 
subdivisions



Who needs a Registration?

 The person operating an Auto Dialer must hold a 
registration

 Those contracting with a third party to place 
Auto Dialer calls on their behalf  do NOT need a 
registration, however, they must ensure the third 
party is properly registered.



Registration Applications

 Applicants must fill out an application form 
provided by the Commission

 There is one form for both Permits and 
Registration, the applicant simply indicates 
which kind of  authority is sought

 Applications must include a sample script or a 
description of  the type of  scripts the applicant 
intends to run

 Application forms are available on the 
Commission’s website: www.psc.nebraska.gov


