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TO ALL INTERESTED PARTIES: 
 
You have expressed an interest in the procedures enacted by the Nebraska Legislature, which 
provides a process for the public to make application to the Nebraska Public Service Commission 
for a change in their local exchange service area (boundary change).   
 
A copy of the applicable state statutes are attached for you to review and determine if you meet 
all of the requirements that will be evaluated by the Commission in determining if there is a basis 
for the requested change.  
 
Both a blank and an annotated application form are attached. The blank application may be used 
as the application itself.  The application, if not filed by an attorney, must be notarized. 
 
If more than one consumer is applying for a boundary change it is not necessary for each 
individual to submit a separate application if they are a member of the group requesting the same 
boundary change.  However, a list of all members of the group including full name, mailing 
address, legal address (Township, Range, and Section) and current telephone number must be 
submitted with the application.  
 
In addition to the application, you should obtain a letter from a) the new carrier you are 
requesting service from stating they will provide the service and identifying any construction 
charges that may be applicable and b) a letter from the current carrier stating they will release you 
from their current service and stating any lost investment charges that may be applicable. Without 
both letters you could still file the application, however, it will take longer to process the 
boundary change request since the letters from the carriers must be on file before the application 
can be processed. 
 
Each application must be accompanied by a check payable to the Nebraska Public Service 
Commission in the amount of $50.00 for applications submitted by a consumer or $250.00 for 
applications submitted by certificated carriers. 
 
Once the application is received, the Commission must notice the filing for 30 days.  After this 
period if the application is contested a hearing will be scheduled, all parties appear and present 
evidence to the Commission who will then study the evidence presented and issue a decision 
(usually not on the same day).  The decision is posted for 10 days and then goes into effect.  
 
If the application is not contested and all parties agree to the change then the application is 
handled as a modified administrative procedure and is presented to the Commission for approval. 
The decision is posted for 10 days and then goes into effect.  
 
If you have any questions concerning the preparation of your application or require additional 
assistance, please contact the Communications Department at 800-526-0017 or 402-471-3101. 
 
Enclosures 


