BEFORE THE NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In the Matter of the Commission, on ) RULE AND REGULATION NO. 182
Its own motion, seeking to amend )
Title 291, Chapter 3, Motor Carrier ) RESPONSE TO ORDER

) RELEASING FIFTH

SET OF PROPOSED RULES
FOR COMMENTS AND

Rules and Regulations, to rewrite )
)
) SCHEDULING HEARING
)
)

the chapter in its entirety.

COMMENTS OF BNSF RAILWAY

l. Introduction:

On July 21, 2015, the Nebraska Public Service Commission (Commission) published a fifth
set of proposed rules regarding motor carriers. BNSF does not offer an opinion on Section
003.01D, but offers these comments regarding Section 006.02A — the Commission’s fourth
proposal concerning uninsured/underinsured motorist (UI/UIM) insurance coverage for contract
carriers transporting railroad workers since publishing the Second Set of Proposed Rules on
January 7, 2014.

BNSF appreciates the Commission’s willingness to seek counsel. The legal advice
provided by the Attorney General has been essential in guiding the Commission to the
proposal now being considered - $100,000 per person/$300,000 UI/UIM limits per vehicle for
all common carriers. The limits proposed by the Commission in this rulemaking are much
more palatable than two of the Commission’s previous proposals. However, BNSF Railway
wishes to continue to express its previous concerns regarding the foundations of this

Commission proposal:



(1) There is no evidence to support a finding that increased UI/UIM limits are
necessary because, in three previous hearings on the UI/UIM insurance for
contract carriers, SMART-TD, their legal counsel and the other railroad unions
have failed to produce evidence that railroad workers are uncompensated or
even undercompensated by the current avenues available to them.

(2) The increased UI/UIM insurance coverage in Section 006.02A creates the
opportunity for railroad employees injured in contract carrier accidents to receive
a financial windfall because the employee automatically receives off-track vehicle
benefits, has the right to pursue a Federal Employers Liability Act (FELA) claim
against the railroad to recover all of their losses and to receive other
compensation in addition to compensation from the contract carrier.

Before discussing these points, here is some context to help the Commission better
appreciate why SMART-TD is aggressively pushing the Commission to adopt Section
006.02A.

Il. Background: BNSF Railway is one of Nebraska’s Leading Employers:

BNSF Railway employs approximately 48,000 people operating on more than 32,500
miles of track in 28 states and 3 Canadian Provinces. In Nebraska, we own more than 1,550
miles of railroad track and operate rail yards in Alliance, Lincoln, McCook and Omaha (2).
BNSF also operates shops in Alliance, Lincoln and Havelock. BNSF moved almost 2.4 million
railcars through Nebraska in 2014. For more than a century, BNSF and its predecessor
railroads have been one of Nebraska’s largest employers. We are one of the state’s largest
payers of property taxes and the largest employer in some communities.

In 2014, BNSF employed more than 5,100 people living in Nebraska with a payroll of
almost $380 million. In addition to receiving compensation that averaged $74,500 per
employee, BNSF’s union employees enjoy a wide range of benefits, through either BNSF or
their union, including, but not limited to health insurance, life insurance, accident and disability

insurance, railroad retirement, a 401(K) plan, tuition reimbursement and paid holidays.

lll. When railroad workers are injured on the job, they are covered by the Federal
Employers Liability Act (FELA).



BNSF Railway believes every accident is preventable and our goal is zero accidents. In
the unfortunate circumstance where a railroad employee is injured during the course of their
employment, railroad workers are covered by the Federal Employers Liability Act (FELA).
Since 1908, the FELA, unlike state worker’'s compensation law, allows workers to sue
the railroad and recover all of their losses. Workers can recover damages for past and
future wages, out-of-pocket medical expenses (which are seldom an issue, because BNSF
routinely pays 100% of medical expenses submitted in connection with the vast majority of
work-related injuries, any reduction in the employees’ ability to earn wages as a result of the
injury, as well as non-economic damages like pain and suffering. Under FELA, the employee
has only to prove the negligence of the railroad, its workers, contractors or agents contributed
in whole or in part to his or her claimed damages. A reduced, liberalized stand of causation

applies in the FELA setting, not the concept of proximate cause.

IV. In addition to the railroad employee’s ability to pursue a FELA claim, railroad
employees are covered by an “Off-Track Vehicle Accident Benefits Agreement”
that, in most cases, provides superior benefits to the Nebraska Workers
Compensation System.

Unique to the railroad industry, railroad collective bargaining agreements contain an
“Off-Track Vehicle Accident Benefits Agreement” that provides railroaders injured while
traveling “off-track” with up to $1,000.00 per week for up to 156 consecutive weeks (3 years).
This amount is subject to any offset if they receive payments from the federal railroad
unemployment system, but either way, the employee still receives as much as $1,000.00 per
week for up to three years. The railroad covers the employee’s medical care and, in the case
of death or dismemberment, injured railroad workers can receive up to $300,000.00 in off-track
vehicle accident benefits.

In one of our previous hearings, one of SMART-TD’s representatives noted railroad

workers “are not even covered” by the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation law. While



technically true, the Commission will not hear a groundswell of union support for being covered
under state workers’ compensation laws because railroad workers know they already have
vigorously bargained for federally enforced rights and benefits superior to that of the Nebraska
workers’ compensation system (See Attachment #1):

e Railroad workers can receive a maximum weekly benefit of $1,000.00 per week for
three years (156 weeks). Contrast this amount with the Nebraska workers
compensation system that pays a maximum benefit of $761.00 per week - $239/week
less than what a railroad employee receives under the off-track vehicle agreement;

e The off-track vehicle agreement provides a lump sum of $300,000 in the event of a
railroad employee’s death. Nebraska workers compensation just raised their burial
benefit to $10,000 and the spouse caring for their children can only receive a fraction of
the maximum weekly payment.

e Under Nebraska workers compensation law, employees are statutorily barred from
suing their employer while FELA allows the injured railroad employee or his
representative to sue the railroad to recover all expenses and damages. As discussed
previously, a FELA lawsuit allows the railroad worker to recover all their damages.

SMART-TD has argued workers compensation is a no fault system while FELA requires

the employee to prove the accident was the railroad’s fault. Technically, this is a true
statement. However, if there were injured railroad employees who had not been
compensated, it would be compelling for the railroad unions and their attorneys to put those
cases front and center in these proceedings. Yet, while the Nebraska PSC has now had three
hearings on the issue, the proponents of increasing the UI/UIM coverage for contract carriers
transporting railroad employees have failed to provide one witness or even one piece of

tangible evidence to support their contention greater UI/UIM limits for contract carriers are



necessary to cover expenses not already paid pursuant to the off-track vehicle benefits
agreement, [or] by pursuing a FELA claim against the railroad and accessing all of the other
avenues of recovery available to them, including their own personal UI/UIM policies.

V. BNSF requires all of its contractors, especially contract carriers, to maintain
appropriate levels of insurance.

Railroad workers riding in contract carriers are covered by their employer-sponsored
health insurance policy and the railroad will reimburse the employee any out-of-pocket
expenses. BNSF Railway is self-insured and contractually requires its carriers transporting
railroad employees to indemnify BNSF for any lawsuits.

BNSF requires all its suppliers to carry commercial general liability (CGL) insurance in
the amount of $1,000,000.00 per occurrence and $2,000,000.00 in aggregate coverage.
Primary suppliers of business automobiles are required to provide $5,000,000.00 worth of
coverage for bodily injury and property damage. In addition, BNSF’s 3rd Party Crew
Transportation Management Company, Travelliance, Inc., carries an umbrella policy to
bridge the gap between our supplier insurance levels and BNSF's $25M self-insured limits.

V. BNSF Comments Specific to the Nebraska PSC Rulemaking:

() In three previous hearings on the UI/UIM insurance for contract carriers, SMART-
TD, their legal counsel and the other railroad unions have failed to produce a
railroad worker left uncompensated or even undercompensated after pursuing
claims against a common carrier, the railroad and a UI/UIM third-party motorist.

A review of the record from the previous hearings on February 19, 2014, September 25,

2014, and December 16, 2014, reveals the unions and their attorneys really want the
Commission to increase the UI/UIM limits for contract carriers transporting railroad workers.
However, they have offered no evidence from this jurisdiction or any other jurisdiction, only

anecdotal stories and hypotheticals, their employees are not being compensated fairly

pursuant to the multi-layered avenues of compensation already available. At the hearing on



April 1, 2015, Commissioner Schram offered Mr. Borgeson, the SMART-TD representative, the
opportunity to submit evidence of any workers’ unpaid medical bills and Borgeson failed to do
So.

Instead of contemplating hypothetical situations, would it not be more appropriate to ask
the proponents of increasing the UI/UIM limits to produce some actual evidence or first-hand
testimony about how the current UI/UIM levels were not sufficient after receiving all the
compensation available to them from all other sources?

This regulation is no longer about the safety of the railroad workers being transported by
contract carriers. The sole issue before the Commission is the UI/UIM limit for contract
carriers. Itis arbitrary and capricious for the Commission to adopt increased UI/UIM limits
for all contract carriers based on the union’s bare assertion railroad workers need more
coverage when they have failed to demonstrate railroad workers in Nebraska have not been
made whole by the compensation already received. There is no need for the Commission to
create a special classification for railroad workers and, therefore, no need for the proposed
rule.

(2) The increased UI/UIM insurance coverage in Section 006.02A creates the

opportunity for railroad employees injured in contract carrier accidents to receive

a financial windfall because the employee automatically receives off-track vehicle

benefits, has the right to pursue a legal claim against the railroad for all of their

losses under the Federal Employers Liability Act (FELA) and receives other
compensation in addition to their UI/UIM claim against the contract carrier.

The proponents of increasing the UI/UIM limits have omitted a critical piece of
information necessary for the Commission’s consideration of this matter. In Nebraska, the
collateral source rule prevents a jury in a railroad workers’ FELA case against the railroad from
hearing the employee has already received a payment from one or more UI/UIM policies. The

common carriers transporting railroad employees exist solely to transport railroad workers,

railroads are their only customers and they would not exist “but for” the railroads. Under the



Commission’s proposal, the injured railroad employees could recover from the common
carrier's UI/UIM policy — a policy whose costs are ultimately paid for by the railroads in the form
of higher contract rates — then collect from the railroad under FELA, alleging negligence by the
contract carrier and the jury would never know about the double recovery.

Using the new policy limits, the collateral source rule prevents the jury from ever hearing
the railroad worker received a $100,000 payment from the UI/UIM policy maintained by the
contract carrier the employee claims was negligent while acting on behalf of the railroad. In the
event of a Nebraska jury verdict for the railroad worker for contract carrier negligence, the
railroad is not entitled to an offset for the UI/UIM payment already made by the contract
carrier’s insurance company.

VI. Conclusion:

In conclusion, BNSF appreciates the Commission’s willingness to listen to the counsel of
the Attorney General and to adopt a more palatable recommendation for UI/UIM limits. That
being said, the railroad unions and the attorney pushing for the increased UI/UIM limits in
Section 006.02A still have not produced competent or substantial evidence to corroborate any
of their hypothetical examples and anecdotes from the three previous hearings. BNSF would
encourage the Commission to base its decision on competent and substantial evidence there
are actually railroad workers not being made whole through all of the current avenues of
compensation before increasing the UI/UIM limits for all contract carriers. To do otherwise is to
allow the proponents of the rule to turn the tragedy of someone being injured on the job into a
financial windfall for the workers and their attorney.

For all of these reasons, BNSF Railway respectfully requests the Commission strike

Section 006.02A from the final order of rulemaking in this case.



One (1) original, five (5) paper copies and one (1) electronic copy in Word format were

transmitted to the Nebraska Public Service Commission on this 24th day of August, 2015.
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Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court Information Sheet:

Rights & Obligations under the
Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Law

What is workers’ compensation?

Workers’ compensation in Nebraska is designed to provide certain benefits to employees who sustain
injury by accident or occupational disease arising out of and in the course of their employment, and who are
not willfully negligent at the time of the injury.

It should not be confused with unemployment compensation, Social Security disability benefits, health and
accident insurance, or other disability benefit plans provided by the employer.

The Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act, found at Section 48-101 fo Section 48-1,118 of the Nebraska
Revised Statutes, is the exclusive remedy of the injured employee if the employer has satisfied its legal
obligation to secure payment of compensation under the act. Typically this is done by obtaining a workers’
compensation insurance policy. In exchange for the right to receive workers’ compensation benefits from
the employer, an employee forfeits his or her right to file a civil action against the employer for damages for
work-related injuries or illnesses.

Who is covered by the workers’ compensation law?

The Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act applies to the State of Nebraska, to every governmental agency
created by it, and to every employer in the state employing one or more employees in the regular frade,
business, profession, or vocation of the employer. Thus, virtually all employees are covered by the workers’
compensation law including employees of private industry, state and local government, part-time employees,
niinors, and employees of charitable organizations.

There are a few exceptions:

(1) Federal employees, railroad employees, most volunteers, and independent contractors are not covered
under the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act.

(2) Household domestic servants and some employees of agricultural operations are covered under the
Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act only if the employer elects to provide worker’s compensation
insurance for them,

Employers engaged in an agricultural operation are exempt from providing workers’ compensation
insurance coverage if they employ only related employees. Agricultural employers who employ unre-
lated employees are also exempt unless in a calendar year they employ 10 or more unrelated, full-time
employees, on each working day for 13 calendar weeks (consecutive or not), The act applies to an
employer 30 days after the 13th week. An employer exempt from the act may elect to provide workers’
compensation coverage for its employees. Every exempt employer who does not elect to provide
workers’ compensation insurance coverage must give all employees written notice at the time of
hiring or at any time more than 30 calendar days prior to the time of injury that they will not be
covered by the act, that they will not be compensated under the act if they are injured on the job or
suffer an occupational disease, and that they should plan accordingly. The notice must be signed by
the unrelated employee and retained by the employer. Failure to provide this notice subjects an
employer to liability under the act for any unrelated employee to whom such notice was not given.

(3) Self-employed individuals, sole proprietors, partners, and limited liability company members who
are actually engaged in the business on a substantially full-time basis may elect to be covered under




the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act. To elect coverage such a person must file a written election
with the insurer from whom workers’ compensation insurance coverage is obtained.

(4) Executive officers of Nebraska corporations who own 25 percent or more of the corporation’s common
stock are not considered employees of the corporation under the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation
Act unless they elect to be covered. To elect coverage, a corporate officer must file such election in
writing with the workers® compensation insurer and the corporate secretary (not with the court).

(5) Executive officers of Nebraska nonprofit corporations who receive annual compensation of $1,000.00
or less from the corporation are not considered employees of the corporation under the Nebraska
Workers’ Compensation Act unless they elect to be covered. To elect coverage such officers must file
a written election with the workers’ compensation insurer and the corporate secretary (not with the
court).

When is an employee entitled to Nebraska workers’ compensation benefits?

An injured employee who is covered by the Nebraska Workers® Compensation Act may obtain benefits if:

(1) the injury was caused by an accident or disease that arose out of and in the course of his or her
employment;

(2) the employee was not willfully negligent at the time of the injury;

(3) the employment was in the usual course of the trade, business, profession, or occupation of the
employer; and

(4) the injury occurred in Nebraska; or

the employer was performing work in Nebraska or the employment was principally localized within
this state, whether or not the injury occurred in Nebraska; or

 the contract of hire was made in Nebraska and the employer was engaged in business or performing
work in Nebraska, whether or not the injury occurred in Nebraska.

If an employee dies as a result of a work-related injury, the employee’s dependents may also be entitled to
benefits under the act.

To what benefits is an employee entitled?

A. Medical Benefits

The employef/insurer is liable for all reasonable medical and hospital services, appliances, prescribed
drugs, prosthetic devices, and other supplies that are necessary as the result of a work-related injury.
Expenses for medical travel may be paid in some instances.

There are rules about whether the employee or employer chooses the doctor. The employee has the right to
select a physician who has maintained the medical records of the employee (or an immediate family member)
when the employer notifies the employee of this right. If the employee does not have or does not choose
such a physician, then the employer may select the physician. The initial choice of physician, when chosen
by the employee or employer after the employer notifies the employee of the right to choose, can only be
changed when both the employee and the employer agree on the change or the Nebraska Workers’
Compensation Court orders the change. If the employer does not give proper notice to the employee
regarding the right of selection, then the restrictions on changing physicians do not apply and the employee
has the right to select any physician. The employee also may select a physician to perform a major surgical
operation or in cases involving dismemberment. “Physician” means any person licensed to practice medicine
and surgery, osteopathic medicine chiropractic, podiatry, or dentistry in the State of Nebraska or in the state
in which the physician is practicing. Please refer to the court’s pamphlet, Choosing a Doctor for a Work-
Related Injury, for more detailed information.




An employer/insurer may request that an injured employee submit to a medical examination by a doctor of
its choice at the company’s expense.

An employee or an employer may use the court’s informal dispute resolution process or independent medical
examiner system to try to resolve a disagreement over a medical issue.

An employee may be required to receive medical services under a managed care plan if the employer has
given the employee proper notice about the plan.

If an employee unreasonably refuses medical treatment, his or her compensation may be reduced, limited,
or suspended.

Expenses for medical care should be submitted to the employer or to the insurer for payment.
B. Indemnity (Wage Loss) Benefits

Benefits are paid at the same interval as wages were paid at the time of the injury. Payments must be sent
directly to the person entitled to compensation or his or her designated representative except where there is
an attorney’s lien or where child support is due. Benefits are not taxable and not assignable to another
person.

Compensation benefits begin on the eighth calendar day of disability due to the injury. Compensation for
the first seven days of disability is not paid unless the employee’s disability lasts six weeks or more. The
first day of disability is included in the seven-day waiting period and a partial day of disability is considered
a full calendar day for purposes of the waiting period. The days of disability need not be consecutive. Time
lost from work for less than a day to seek medical care, including physical or medical rehabilitation, is
compensated as temporary partial disability.

1. Total Disability Benefits
Benefits may be either:

(a) temporary total disability; or,
(b) permanent total disability.

Total disability entitles the employee to two-thirds of his or her average weekly wage, subject to the maximum
and minimum per week, for as long as the physician indicates the employee remains unable to work as a
result of the injury.

2. Partial Disability Benefits

Benefits may be either:

(a) temporary partial; or,

(b) permanent partial loss of a member; or,
(c) permanent partial to the body as a whole.

Temporary Partial Benefits. Benefits are paid when the employee is able to return to work but under
limited circumstances such as for a few hours a day or at a job which pays less than the job held at the time
of the injury. Temporary partial benefits are paid during the period of partial disability, but not beyond 300
weeks. Temporary partial benefits are paid at the rate of two-thirds of the difference between the wages
received at the time of the injury and the earning power of the employee thereafter subject to the maximum
per week.

Permanent Partial Loss of a Member Benefits. Benefits are paid for the loss or loss of use of a body part
such as a leg or hand based upon the statutory value of the various body parts. Benefits are paid at the rate
of two-thirds of the employee’s average weekly wage, subject to the maximum and minimum per week,




times the number of weeks of compensation set out in the statutory schedule for the body part or percentage
of Ioss thereof. The total loss or loss of use of two members in one accident is considered total and permanent
disability.

Permanent Partial to the Body as a Whole. Benefits are paid for permanent disability resulting from the
injury at a rate calculated upon the percentage of disability suffered times two-thirds of the employee’s
average weekly wage, subject to the maximum per week. Benefits are limited to a maximum of 300 weeks
less the number of weeks of temporary and permanent disability previously received.

3. Death Benefits

If the injury results in the death of the employee, the widow/widower is paid death benefits for his or her
life or until remarriage. Upon remarriage, the widow/widower receives two years benefits in a lump sum.
Benefits are calculated at 66 2/3 percent of the employee’s average weekly wage at the time of the injury if
there are no children, and at 75 percent if there are children, subject to the maximum and minimum per
week. Children are entitled to a percentage of the death benefit until they reach age 19, or age 25 if enrolled
full time at an accredited educational institution, or until the end of actual dependency. Additionally, burial
expenses up to a maximum of $10,000.00 are paid.

C. Voeational Rehabilitation Benefits

When, as a result of an injury covered under the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act, an employee is
unable to return to suitable employment for which he or she has previous training or work experience, the
employee is entitled to vocational rehabilitation services. These services are voluntary and, if not offered
by the employer/insurer, the employee can request vocational rehabilitation services. If the parties are
unable to agree on the choice of a vocational rehabilitation counselor, the parties can request the court’s
Vocational Rehabilitation Section to appoint a vocational rehabilitation counselor. If it is determined that
the employee will need services, the vocational rehabilitation counselor can submit a plan of vocational
rehabilitation services to the court for approval. The employer/insurer pays temporary disability benefits
while the employee participates and makes satisfactory progress in the plan. The fee for evaluation and for
the development and implementation of the plan will be paid by the employer/insurer. The Workers’ Com-
pensation Trust Fund, which is administered by the court, pays for the costs of the vocational rehabilitation
plan. Questions concerning vocational rehabilitation services may be directed to a vocational rehabilitation
specialist at the court.

What are Second Injury Benefits?

Second injury benefit payments are limited to injuries that occurred before December 1, 1997. To qualify
for second injury benefits, an employee must have a prior serious disability documented by the employer
through written records when the employee is hired or retained in the employment. If a subsequent injury
produces a greater disability than that which would have resulted from the last injury alone, a special trust
fund administered by the court will pay for the increased disability and the employer will pay only for the
last injury.

How are workers’ compensation benefits obtained?

An employee should notify his or her employer immediately of any work-related injury or occupational
disease. The employee also should inform the treating physician that it is a work-related injury so that the
doctor may comply with the statutory requirement to file a first treatment medical report with the employer/
insurer. The employee also should submit charges for medical treatment to the employet/insurer so that
they can be promptly paid.




Can an employee obtain the name of the employer’s workers’ compensation insurer?

This information can be obtained by contacting the employer or the court. Insurance companies are
required to report to the court each policy of workers’ compensation insurance they issue and are subject to
penalties for failure to report.

What should an employer do after receiving notice of an on-the-job injury?

The employer should notify its workers’ compensation insurer of the injury or occupational disease and
either the employer or the insurer should file a First Report of Alleged Occupational Injury or lllness with
the court within 10 days of the date of the notice of injury. The injured employee is not responsible for filing
this report.

The insurer investigates the claim and, generally, should begin making compensation payments for lost
wages (indemnity) and medical expenses within 30 days of notice of the injury. However, payment of
benefits may be delayed if liability for the claim is disputed.

May an employer use the services of a managed care plan?

An employer may use the services of a managed care plan that has been certified by the court. However, an
employer may not contract directly with a certified managed care plan unless the employer has been
approved as a self-insurer by the court, Other employers may use the services of a certified managed care
plan that has contracted with the employer’s workers’ compensation insurer or intergovernmental risk
management pool, Only a plan that has been certified by the court may be used for workers’ compensation
purposes in Nebraska. When a certified managed care plan is used, the employer must give full notice to
each covered employee about how to receive services and the rights of the employee under the plan.

How long does it take to receive compensation after the injury is reported?

The amount of time varies with employers and insurers, However, in certain circumstances, a 50 percent
penalty may be added for waiting time if payment is not made within 30 days of the notice of injury. This
requires a determination that there is no reasonable dispute regarding the employee’s claim for benefits.
This determination is generally made by a judge of the court after a hearing on the matter, Waiting- time
penalties also apply when there is a failure to pay compensation after 30 days from the entry of a final order,
award or judgment of the court.

When are permanent disability benefits paid?

After the employee has been released from medical treatment and is able to return to work, if the medical
evidence indicates that the employee has suffered permanent disability due to the injury, the employee is
entitled to payment for the degree of permanent disability sustained.

The employer/insurer may offer payment in a one-time lump sum, or over a period of weeks. When the
claimant is not represented by an attorney and in some other situations, a lump sum settlement must be
approved by the court in order to be binding on the parties and terminate the employee’s right to any further
benefits. In some cases, the parties may enter into a full settlement by filing a Release rather than a Lump
Sum Settlement Application. A Release is not reviewed or approved by the court. The settlements that
qualify to be filed as a2 Release may still be submitted as a Lump Sum Settlement Application for the court’s
review and approval, but it is not required.

What may an employee do if the employer/insurer does not pay benefits?

The employee may contact the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court by calling either 800-599-5155 or
402-471-6468. A public information specialist will discuss the situation with the employee and refer him or
her for further assistance when it is appropriate. The staff of the court may not provide legal advice or offer
a legal opinion.




Any person involved in a workers’ compensation claim may request informal dispute resolution to help
settle an issue or an entire case without the need for a formal hearing. Neutral mediators can help people
resolve their disputes and reach agreements. To request informal dispute resolution, write to the Nebraska
Workers’ Compensation Court Mediation Coordinator, P.O. Box 98908, Lincoln NE 68509-8908.

The employee may file a petition (lawsuit) with the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court. Petition
forms may be obtained from the Clerk of the Court. The employee may represent himself or herself, or may
be represented by an attorney.

A petition must be filed within two years of the date of the accident or the date of last payment of
compensation (either medical or indemnity payments) made, or the claim for compensation may be barred
by the Statute of Limitations.

Upon receipt of the petition, the court will notify the employer/insurer by summons. The employer/insurer
is given 14 days to file an answer. A hearing date then is set. The hearing is held in the county where the
injury occurred or in any other county upon which the parties agree.

At the hearing, a judge of the Nebraska Workers” Compensation Court will hear the case and then make a
written decision that will be mailed to all parties.

If either party does not agree with the decision, the decision may be appealed. For cases where a hearing on
the merits was held before August 27, 2011, an Application for Review may be filed within 14 days of the
date of the decision. A three judge panel will review the case and make a decision. If either party does not
agree with the compensation court review panel decision, it may be appealed to the Court of Appeals, or in
some cases to the Supreme Court of the State of Nebraska. For cases filed after August 27, 2011, or in
pending cases in which a hearing on the merits has not been held before August 27, 2011, an appeal will not
have intermediate review by a compensation court review panel, but will be heard by the higher appellate
court(s).

How may an employer comply with the statutory requirement that workers’ compensation
coverage be provided?

Under the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act, there are only three methods by which employers may
fulfill their obligation to secure payment of compensation:

(1) by purchasing a policy of workers’ compensation insurance from a private insurer licensed by the
Nebraska Department of Insurance to write workers’ compensation insurance;

(2) by applying to the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court and obtaining the court’s authorization to
self-insure; or,

(3) in the case of an employer who is a lessor of one or more commercial motor vehicles leased to a self-
insured motor carrier with its principal place of business in Nebraska, by entering into an effective
agreement with the self-insured motor carrier that such carrier will pay workers’ compensation beti-
efits to an injured driver. This method will only satisfy the employer’s obligation with respect to
drivers. Any obligation with respect to other employees must be satisfied under one of the first two
methods.

Who may be self-insured?

Employers who satisfy certain requirements and have been approved by the court may self-insure. The
employer must be a corporation or political subdivision, with a minimum of five years in business under
the present organizational structure, have a minimum of 100 employees, a strong financial base, and a
positive program for safety. Once approved, a self-insurer must file a surety bond and excess insurance
with the court. Any employer not approved by the court must carry a policy of workers’ compensation
insurance, or otherwise secure the payment of compensation as required by law.




What are the penalties for an employer’s failure to provide workers’ compensation insurance
coverage?

Any one or more of the following penalties may be applied:

(1) afine not to exceed $1,000.00 for each violation, Each day of continued failure to secure coverage
constitutes a separate violation;

(2) imprisomment for not more than one year;
(3} enjoinder from doing business in Nebraska until compliance is secured.

Also, an injured employee may sue the employer for damages in district court, and the employer will lose
its common law defenses.

This information sheet has been prepared by the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court to
answer some of the commonly asked questions concerning workers’ compensation. Further
inquiries should be directed to:

Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court
P.O. Box 98908

Lincoln, NE 68509-8908

800-599-5155 or 402-471-6468

http://www.wcc.ne.gov/
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Tables of Maximum/ Minimum Compensation Benefits,

Burial Benefits, and Mileage Reimbursement Rates

Maximum/ Minimum Compensation Benefits

Burial Benefits

Injury Occurring Between: |Maximum: Minimum: Effective 07/19/2012: $10,000.00
Effective 01/01/2015: $761.00 $49.00 09/12/1997 to 07/18/2012: $6,000.00
01/01/2014 to 12/31/2014 $747.00 $49.00 08/30/1981 to 09/12/1997: $2,000.00
01/01/2013 to 12/31/2013 $728.00 $49.00 Through 08/29/1981: $1,000.00
01/01/2012 to 12/31/2012 $710.00 $49.00
01/01/2011 to 12/31/2011 $698.00 $49.00 Mileage Reimbursement Rates
01/01/2010 to 12/31/2010 $691.00 $49.00 Effective 01/01/2015: 57.5 cents per mile
01/01/2009 to 12/31/2009: $671.00 $49.00 01/01/2014 to 12/31/2014: 56.0 cents per mile
01/01/2008 to 12/31/2008: $644.00 $49.00 01/01/2013 to 12/31/2013: 56.5 cents per mile
01/01/2007 to 12/31/2007: $617.00 $49.00 07/01/2011 to 12/31/2012: 55.5 cents per mile
01/01/2006 to 12/31/2006: $600.00 $49.00 01/01/2011 to 06/30/2011: 51.0 cents per mile
01/01/2005 to 12/31/2005: $579.00 $49.00 01/01/2010 to 12/31/2010: 50.0 cents per mile
01/01/2004 to 12/31/2004: $562.00 $49.00 01/01/2009 to 12/31/2009: 55.0 cents per mile
01/01/2003 to 12/31/2003: $542.00 $49.00 07/01/2008 to 12/31/2008: 58.5 cents per mile
01/01/2002 to 12/31/2002: $528.00 $49.00 01/01/2008 to 06/30/2008: 50.5 cents per mile
01/01/2001 to 12/31/2001: $508.00 $49.00 01/01/2007 to 12/31/2007: 48.5 cents per mile
01/01/2000 to 12/31/2000: $487.00 $49.00 01/01/2006 to 12/31/2006: 44.5 cents per mile
01/01/1999 to 12/31/1999: $468.00 $49.00 09/01/2005 to 12/31/2005: 48.5 cents per mile
01/01/1998 to 12/31/1998: $444.00 $49.00 01/01/2005 to 08/31/2005: 40.5 cents per mile
01/01/1997 to 12/31/1997: $427.00 $49.00 01/01/2004 to 12/31/2004: 37.5 cents per mile
01/01/1996 to 12/31/1996: $409.00 $49.00 01/01/2003 to 12/31/2003: 36.0 cents per mile
01/01/1995 to 12/31/1995: $350.00 $49.00 01/01/2002 to 12/31/2002: 36.5 cents per mile
06/01/1994 to 12/31/1994: $310.00 $49.00 01/01/2001 to 12/31/2001: 34.5 cents per mile
07/01/1991 to 05/31/1994: $265.00 $49.00 07/01/1999 to 12/31/2000: 31.0 cents per mile
07/10/1990 to 06/30/1991: $255.00 $49.00 07/01/1996 to 06/30/1999: 30.0 cents per mile
07/01/1988 to 07/09/1990: $245.00 $49.00 07/01/1995 to 06/30/1996: 29.0 cents per mile
05/30/1987 to 06/30/1988: $235.00 $49.00 07/01/1993 to 06/30/1995: 27.5 cents per mile
09/06/1985 to 05/29/1987: $225.00 $49.00 07/01/1991 to 06/30/1993: 24.0 cents per mile
08/26/1983 to 09/05/1985: $200.00 $49.00
08/24/1979 to 08/25/1983: $180.00 $49.00
04/21/1978 to 08/23/1979: $155.00 $49.00
09/02/1977 to 04/20/1978: $140.00 $49.00
08/24/1975 to 09/01/1977: $100.00 $49.00
07/12/1974 to 08/23/1975: $89.00 $49.00
04/22/1973 to 07/11/1974: $80.00 $49.00
08/27/1971 to 04/21/1973: $62.00 $40.00

After 300 weeks: $47.00 $36.00
12/23/1969 to 08/26/1971: $55.00 $35.00

After 300 weeks: $41.00 $31.00
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