SECRETARY’S RECORD, NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

BEFORE THE NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In the Matter of the Commission, on )} Rule and Regulation No. 182
its own motion, seeking to amend )
Title 291, Chapter 3, Motor Carrier )
Rules and Regulations, to rewrite )  ORDER ISSUING AMENDED
)
)
)
)

the chapter in its entirety. CERTIFICATE OF ADOPTION

Entered: August 9, 2016
BY THE COMMISSION:
OPINTION A ND FINDINGS

On June 1, 2017 ; the Nebraska Public Service Commission
(Commission) opened the above-captioned docket on its own motion to
amend Title 291, Chapter 3, Motor Carrier Rules and Regulations, to
rewrite the chapter in its entirety to reflect changes in state and
federal law and policy, in addition to- changes in Commission practice.

On May 10, 2016, the Commission entered an order adopting the
fifth set of proposed rules and issuing a certificate of adoption. On
July 14, 2016, the Attorney General met with Commission staff to
discuss required non-substantive amendments to the proposed rules. On
July 20, 2016, the Commission submitted the following changes to the
Attorney General for review:

Amend statutory citation:

003 CLASSIFICATIONS: Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §75-304 (Supp. 2015),
the Commission determines that the following classifications of motor
carriers are necessary or desirable 1in the public interest. All
certificates and permits issued by the Commission shall be construed
and interpreted, and the operations authorized shall be tested and
determined in accordance with these classifications.

Add the word “may”:

003.02A The Commission, based on the record before it in an
application proceeding, may restrict the transportation of passengers
by type of vehicle, geographic territory, commencement point or
termination point, or any other lawful factor which the Commission may
determine 1is necessary or reasonable and in the public interest.
Covenants not to compete or similar agreements that restrict the
proposed service or the geographic territory of a proposed service
that the Commission finds are not in the public interest will not be
considered lawful and will not be approved in an application
proceeding.
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Add language requiring public notice and hearing and reference
statutory limits on annual fee amount:

004.02 Annual Fees: After notice and public hearing, Ar a annvat fee
of—twenty—five—doltlars approved annually by the Commission shall be
remitted for each motor vehicle operated by each regulated motor
carrier. The fee shall not exceed the amount allowed under Nebraska
statutes. A fee approved annually by the Commission shall be remitted
by each regulated motor carrier for each truck-trailer or tractor-

traller combination oEerated as—fﬁ@W&ded—4ﬁf—8ee%feﬂ—4%—895——4%4%4}—

7 = - &

eﬁ—+he—é&%s%—day—eé—%mfeh—eaeh—yeaf— Such annual fees are due and

payable by every regulated motor carrier on the first day of January
of each year, and is delinquent on the first day of March of that
year. If the initial certificate or permit is issued to a motor
carrier on or after July 1, the fee shall be fifty percent of the
annual fee.

Add grammatical correction:
005.01 Minimum Qualifications: Each person driving a motor vehicle
subject to the Commission’s jurisdiction shall possess the following

mlnlmum quallflcat1ons——exeeﬁ%—as—pfev&ded—&a—%ee%&e&—@@é—%g

Update “Hours of Service” to reflect changes to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 75-
363(9) (A) (Supp. 2015) effective March 10, 2016:

005 045 Aleeheol—and—brugss Ne—d%éve&—sha%%—d%&&k—a%eehe%}e—bevefages

ef—aﬁy—eemb&ﬁa%feﬂ—£hefeef— Hours of Service: No motor carrier shall

permit or require any driver employed by such motor carrier to drive
nor shall any such driver drive (1) more than twelve (12) hours
following eight (8) consecutive hours off duty or (2) for any period
after having been on duty sixteen (16) hours following eight (8)
consecutive hours off duty.

Add previously removed subsection and renumber:
010.01E1 The log shall contain the following information:

010.01Ela 63602612 The name of the individual engaging &he
ITimeusine oOr hiring the vehicle and his or her address.

010.01E1lb 6366203 The address of the point where the passenger
was picked up efpiekup and the point of destination and the
times they occurred.

8100201 e The hours—ef service contracted for—and

010.01Elc 63662014 The amount charged and collected.
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A copy of the rules and regulations containing the required
changes are attached hereto as Appendix and incorporated herein by
this reference. As the proposed changes are non-substantive, no
further public hearing is required. The Commission finds that the
rules as amended should be adopted and a certificate of adoption
issued.

ORDER
IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED by the Nebraska Public Service Commission
that the proposed rules and regulations as amended herein should be

adopted and an amended certificate of adoption issued.

ENTERED AND MADE EFFECTIVE at Lincoln, Nebraska, this 9% day of
August, 2016.

NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

COMMISSIONERS CONCURRING: ' Jﬁ,r”’#ﬂ—”—

Chairman

(\DJL-MJ ATTEST:
N SHMETG

//s//Frank E. Landis

//s//Tim Schram Deputy Director
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APPENDIX

001 GENERAL:

001.01 Definitions: Seetieon—+5—302—Reissue—andRevised Statutes
- ] o 1043 : e definitd : i .

. les I e : TN _ i
chapter+ The definitions found in Neb. Rev. Stat. §75-302 (Cum.
Supp. 2000) apply to these rules. In addition to those
definitions, the following apply to this chapter, unless the
context otherwise requires:

001.01A Agent—means—the Nebraska Jtnterstate Registration

Agent- Commission: The Nebraska Public Service Commission.

001.01B Cemmissicn—meoans—the—Nebraslka—Dublic Serviee
Commissiens Driver: Any person who operates a motor
vehicle.

001.01C Briveaway—epcration—means—transpertatienof anay
—*rT—?— . - 1 : ] e b3 : i
B e T L s

Limousine: A vehicle used to provide limousine service.

001.01D NPSC Plate: A license plate which is issued by the
Commission to holders of Commission authority.

001.01E Premium Fare: A rate based on an hourly rental of
not less than one (1) hour at a scheduled rate which shall
be set, and periodically reviewed, by the Commission and
which shall include a minimum rental of not less than one
hour. A mileage charge may be assessed for the
transportation of the vehicle only for such time before
and after the transportation is provided and only in
addition to the minimum hourly charged as provided by this
definition.
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001.02 Matter to Be Set For Hearing: All matters that require a
hearing shall be set for hearing at the earliest practicable date
and in no event, except for good cause shown, shall the time
fixed for hearing be more than six (6) months after the date of
the filing of the petition. Any application that is not set for
hearing as set forth above shall be dismissed.

001.03 Requirements for an Effective Authority:

001.03A The following requirements must be fulfilled no
later than forty-five (45) days following the date an
authority is granted by the Commission:

001.03A1 Filing of proposed rates or subscribing
to the Household Goods Mover Tariff;

001.03A2 Filing of Commission required insurance
documents; and

001.03A3 Payment of Annual Fees

001.03B An authority issued by the Commission is not
effective until the requirements of subsection 001.03A
have been fulfilled.

001.03C If after forty-five (45) days an applicant has
not fulfilled the requirements of subsection 001.03A
above, the Commission’s grant of authority shall be
considered null and void.

002 OPERATIONS RULES:

002.01 Unauthorized Operations: Unless specifically exempted by
statute, a regulated motor common or contract carrier of preperty
e¥ passengers or household goods shall not operate any motor
vehicle fer—thetransperbasionaf properby orpassengere Tor hive
on any public highway in this state except in accordance with
state law Shkeptor—dbr—aritelos— and—3of the Nepraoa—soasabes-
as—amended, and with—the—provisions—ef these rules. A motor common
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or contract carrier of p¥eperty household goods or passengers
shall not operate upon any public highway without first having
obtained from the Commission a certificate or permit of authority
and shall not operate except in compliance with the terms and
conditions and restrictions of the authority or permit. A motor
common or contract carrier does not avoid the jurisdiction of the
Commission by engaging in a leaser—untess—se—provided—for by
Commissieon—rute—06068. No carrier, without first obtaining written
Commission approval, shall:

002.01A Fail to operate over its entire certificated
route.

002.01B Discontinue, in any part, service authorized.

002.01C Serve any part of its certificated route by
interline agreement with another carrier.

002.01D Fail to confine its operations to those authorized
under its certificate or permit.

002017 fous 1 : T ant AL :
| P——_ l ] l - ;
fosleregular—reovte autheridl tos

002.02 Rates: Each regulated motor carrier shall charge and
collect rates, issue and deliver freight bills, and obtain
receipts showing delivery of shipments carried, as prescribed by
the Commission in its effective Motor Vehicle Tariffs, schedule of
charges, resetutiensy and supplements +therete. .

002.03 Deviations from Routes: A carrier which has received
authority from the Commission to operate only along a designated
route may not deviate from their authorized route unless such
route has been redesignated, relocated or temporarily closed, when
such route has been obstructed by any natural or other cause over
which the regulated motor carrier has no control, or when a detour
has been designated by the Department of Roads, law enforcement,

or an authorlzed agency of a polltlcal subd1v151on of the state.

002.04 Schedules: Schedules containing the actual rates or charges
of such carrier for the transportation of passengers or household
goods preperty in intra-state commerce shall be filed with and
approved by the Commission, published and kept open for public
inspection. In the event that such rates are changed after a

[ -prinled with soy ink on recycled paperé
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permit is issued, the carrier shall file a new schedule with the
Commission ten (10) days before the effective date of such rates

or charges.

003 CLASSIFICATIONS: Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §75-304 (Supp. 2015),
the Commission determines that the following classifications of motor
carriers are necessary or desirable in the public interest. All
certificates and permits issued by the Commission shall be construed
and interpreted, and the operations authorized shall be tested and
determined in accordance with these classifications.

003.01 Service Classifications: Every applicant for common or
contract transportation shall designate the type of transportation
service requested from the classifications found in this section
and shall further designate whether (1) such service as requested
shall bé provided as a common carrier or as a contract carrier
and, if a contract carrier, the persons or entities contracted
with; (2) the service, if granted, shall be provided over (a) a
regular route which route shall be described in the application or
(b) an irreqular route which territory the applicant seeks to
provide transportation which shall be described, and (3) any other
restrictions shall be applicable. An applicant who desires to
transport railroad train crews and their baggage or clients of the
Nebraska State Department of Health and Human Services or any
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contractors of the Department shall make specific application for
such authority.
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003.01A Bus service shall consist of the following

elements: (1) the business of carrying passengers and
their baggage (2) by bus or van (3) either by charter or
regular route (4) either prearranged or scheduled service
(5) at a fare approved and on file with the Commission.
Bus service may be hired on a charter or special party
basis.

003.01A1 Scheduled service means service by any
regulated motor carrier who undertakes to
transport passengers and their baggage in
intrastate commerce by motor vehicle for
compensation between fixed termini and over a
specific highway or highways upon an established
or fixed schedule.

003.01A2 Charter service means transportation of
groups of seven or more persons who collectively
contract for transportation on a particular trip
paying one lump sum.

003.01A3 Special party service means the
transportation of a group or groups of one or more
persons who individually contract for
transportation to a common destination with each
person paying an individual sum.

003.01B Household goods moving service shall consist of
all of the following elements: (1) the business of
carrying personal effects and property used, or to be
used, in a dwelling when the transportation of such
effects or property is (2) arranged and paid for (3) by
any party and (4) includes transportation of property from
a factory, manufacturer, or store when the property is
purchased with the intent to use such property in a
dwelling.
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003.01C Limousine service  shall consist of all of the
following elements: (1) the business of carrying
passengers for hire by a vehicle (2) along a route under
the control of the person who hired the vehicle and not
over a defined regular route (3) on prearranged and not on
a demand basis (4) at a premium fare. PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED
AS 010.01cC

003.01D Open class service shall consist of all of the
following elements: (1) the business of carrying
passengers for hire by a vehicle (2) along the most direct
route between the points of origin and destination or
along a route under the control of the person who hired
the vehicle and not over a defined regular route (3) at a
mileage based, per trip fare, or an hourly rate.
PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED AS 010.01D

003.01D1 In calculating charges for
transportation, a carrier charging a mileage based
fare may use only the actual loaded mileage
traveled by the vehicle to transport such
passengers. Mileage based charges may not be
augmented or enhanced through any calculation that
does not reflect actual mileage traveled.

003.01E Taxicab service shall consist of all of the
following elements: (1) the business of carrying
passengers for hire by a vehicle, subject to the
provisions of Rule 010.02 (2) along the most direct route
between the points of origin and destination or a route
under the control of the person who hired the vehicle and
not over a defined regular route (3) on a prearranged or
demand basis (4) at a metered mileage based or per trip
fare according to the provisions of Rule 010.02H (5)
commencing within and/or restricted to a defined
geographic area. PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED AS 010.01E

(¥ printed wilh soy ink on recycled paper &



SECRETARY’S RECORD, NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Rule and Regulation #182 Page 12
] oy : lesis = ] o e ] -
x 3 1 " 3 " 2

+ Restrictions: In addition
to the other applicable Motor Carrier Rules in this chapter, the
following provisions apply to all classes of service unless
otherwise specifically provided in these rules:

L3028 The—type—afcarricrs

GO TR samrtonte see ef sopssd oo
883-02—The—+type—-of—<commodities—Etransperted-
Taelr—olass s sesnmendce ot shese Sheee Soeosogea

003.02A The Commission, based on the record before it in
an application proceeding, may restrict the transportation
of passengers by type of vehicle, geographic territory,
commencement point or termination point, or any other
lawful factor which the Commission may determine 1is
necessary or reasonable and 1in the public interest.
Covenants not to compete or similar agreements that
restrict the proposed service or the geographic territory
of a proposed service that the Commission finds are not in
the public interest will not be considered lawful and will
not be approved in an application proceeding. PREVIOUSLY
NUMBERED AS 010.02A

003.02B No carrier shall transport railroad crews or their
baggage absent a special designation from the Commission
giving such carrier the authority to transport such crews
and their baggage. PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED AS 010.02B

003.02C No carrier shall transport passengers under
contract with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human
Services or any subcontractors of the Department of Health
and Human Services absent specific authorization from the
Commission. In order to receive such authorization, the
applying carrier must demonstrate that such authorization
is or shall be required by the present or future
convenience and necessity separate and apart from the
present or future convenience and necessity demonstrated
on the underlying certificate of authority. Authorization
to transport HHS clientele shall not be available or
granted to carriers that only have limousine service
authority. PREVIOUSLY NUMBERED AS 010.02C
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002,00 Type—ei——Cavretor—The Fipet ciuieoieor op the ohars dcdentificos
four—types—of—earriers+ Classifications for Purposes of Required

Insurance: The following classifications are established for the
purpose of determining insurance requirements for vehicles
operated under authority from the Commission. Operators of motor
vehicles are required to carry the minimum levels of financial
responsibility as prescribed. Operators shall also comply with all
applicable insurance regulations as found in Rule 006 of this
chapter.

003.03A cCommon——ecarrier—of persons—er—propertys Regulated

carriers of household goods are required to carry
liability insurance of not less than seven hundred and
fifty thousand dollars ($750,000.00) plus cargo insurance
of not less than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) of

coverage.
003.03B Cerntroct-—ecarrier of persons—or-prepertyy Carriers

of passengers in vehicles with a rated seating capacity of
sixteen (16) passengers or more as originally manufactured
or as currently modified are required to carry liability
insurance of not less than five million dollars
($5,000,000.00) of coverage.

003.03C Exempt—earrieri+——and Carriers of passengers in

vehicles with a rated seating capacity of fifteen (15)
passengers or less are required to carry liability
insurance of not less than one million, five hundred
thousand dollars ($1,500,000.00) of coverage.

003.03D ZTFronsportatieon Ceooperative= Regulated motor

carrier of passengers by taxicab are required to carry
liability insurance of not less than five hundred thousand
dollars ($500,000.00) of coverage.
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Robrt—a043-—as—amended For—eperoting—o8 0—COmMBOR—6F
. o e .

004 FEES AND IDENTIFICATION:

004.01 Application Fee: An application fee approved annually by
the Commission shall be payable by the applicant at the time of
filing an application. This application fee shall not apply to any
person who contracts for transportation services with the Nebraska
Department of Health and Human Services or any agency organized
under the Nebraska Community Aging Services Act who is not
required to hold a certificate from the Commission pursuant to the
provisions of Neb. Rev. Stat. sections 75-303.01 and 75-303.02
(Cum. Supp. 2000).

PREVIOUS SECTIONS 004.01 THROUGH 004.04 RENUMBERED AS 004.02
THROUGH 004.05:

004.02 Annual Fees: After notice and public hearing, An a annual
fee eof—+twenty—five—deldars approved annually by the Commission
shall be remitted for each motor vehicle operated by each
regulated motor carrier. The fee shall not exceed the amount
allowed under Nebraska statutes. A fee approved annually by the
Commission shall be remitted by each regulated motor carrier for
each truck-trailer or tractor-trailer combination operated. as

0 ») ». .4 - - ) = = - =

each—year- Such annual fees are due and payable by every regulated
motor carrier on the first day of January of each year, and is
delinquent on the first day of March of that year. If the initial
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certificate or permit 1is issued to a motor carrier on or after
July 1, the fee shall be fifty percent of the annual fee.

004.03 Identification Cards: The following provisions concerning
identification cards apply to all motor carriers:

004.03A Issuance: The Commission shall issue annually,
without additional charge, an identification card for each
motor vehicle, upon payment of an annual fee, and upon
compliance with all statutory requirements and rules and
regulations of the Commission. The card wididt shall contain
the certificate or permit number issued by the Commission,
the name and address of the holder, and other information
as the Commission may require. Upon replacement or
addition of any vehicle, a new identification card witt
shall be obtained by the regulated motor carrier by
application to the Commission and the previously issued
identification card witt shall be surrendered to the
Commission.

004.03B Display: No motor vehicle subject to Commission
jurisdiction wid}t shall be operated without an
identification card, protected from defacement, in the
driver's cab.

004.04 PSC Plates: The following provisions concerning PSC plates
shall apply to all regulated motor carriers:

004.04A Issuance: The Commission shall issue PSC plates to
motor carriers who have complied with all statutory
requirements and rules and regulations of the Commission,
and who have completed and filed a copy eepies of the
forms furnished by the Commission in—duptieate to provide
a detailed description for each unit for which a PSC plate
is required.

004.04B Display: No vehicle widit shall be operated without
the secure attachment of its PSC plate in the following
manner:

004.04B1 On passenger carrying units, at the rear
of the vehicle, and easily legible from the rear.

004.04B2 On power units on any portion of the

front part, preferably to the regular vehicle
license so as to be easily read from the front.
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004.04B3 On straight trucks and vehicles with no
more than two axles on either the front or rear so
as to be easily legible.

004.04C Transfer: A transferee or lessee of a certificate
or permit may use the PSC plates of the transferor or
lessor for the remainder of the calendar year, without
payment of an additional fee for use of the plates, upon
approval in writing by the Commission after the transferee
or lessee has applied to the Commission for the approval,
and has given the Commission a full, written description
of the equipment or vehicle to which the PSC plates are to
be transferred and any other relevant information
requested by the Commission. The plates witE shall be used
only on the specific equipment or vehicle to which they
are assigned.

004.04D Loss: If a plate is lost or destroyed, such loss
or destruction widdt shall be reported to the Commission
within forty-eight (48) hours after the discovery of such
loss or destruction. A substitute plate may be obtained
upon making request therefer, for such plate, upon filing
an affidavit with the Commission setting forth the time,
place and circumstances surrounding the loss or
destruction, and upon payment of a fee approved annually
by the Commission $3i=66.

004.04FE Rewveoeatien Return of Plates: Upon suspension,
cancellation, or revocation of a certificate or permit, or
upon sale, transfer, or other disposition of equipment or
vehicles to which a PSC plate has been assigned, the
plates witlt shall be returned to the Commission within ten

+0—days, except as—provided—inSeectieon084-03¢ if such
plate has been transferred to a transferee or lessee in
accordance with these rules.

004.05 Door Displays: The following provisions concerning door
displays shall apply to all regulated motor carriers subjeet—te
theFurisdictionof the Commissiont except to those carriers

providing limousine servige.

004.05A Contents: The name, or trade name, of the carrier
under whose authority the vehicle is being operated, and
the Commission application number assigned to the
operating authority, excluding supplement numbers, mwitd
shall be displayed on both doors or sides of each powered
vehicle. If the name of any person other than the
operating carrier appears on a vehicle, the name of the

- .prinled with soy ink on recycled paper é
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operating carrier witt shall be followed by the
information required in this section and be preceded by
the words "operated by." Additional identification may be
displayed if it is consistent with the above requirements.

004.05B Size and Color: Each door display wit+ shall be
legible at all times. The application number wiltl-be—-at
teast—3"—inches—high shall be readily legible, during
daylight hours, from a distance of 50 feet (15.24 meters)
while the vehicle is stationary. The color scheme of the
display witt shall be in distinct contrast to the
background color of the eab—deer vehicle.

004.05C Removal: Any numeral or letter painted on
equipment in accordance with this section witt shall be
removed by the carrier when possession or ownership
changes, or when a different carrier operates such
equipment.

005 SAFETY REGULATIONS:

005.01 Minimum Qualifications: Each person driving a motor
vehicle subject to the Commission’s jurisdiction shall possess

the following minimum qual1flcat1ons——exeep%—as—p%ev&ded—&ﬂ
Seetion—065-39:

005.01A Sound physical and mental condition with no
mental, nervous, organic, or functional disease or
structural defect or limitation likely to interfere with
safe driving.

005.01B Adequate sight which shall include vision with
visual acuity of at least 20/40 (Snellen) in each eye
either without corrective lenses, or visual acuity
separately corrected to 20/40 (Snellen) or better with
corrective lenses, distant binocular acuity of at least
20/40 (Snellen) in both eyes with or without corrective
lenses, glasses—er by eerrection with glassesy—feorm field
of vision of at least 70 degrees in the horizontal
meridian in each eye, ip—the heorizontal-—meridian—-ofnot
less—thanatotaleof 1H40degrees+ and the ability to
recognize the colors of traffic signals and devices
showing standard red, green and amber. distinguish-ecelers

& ’ 4

reguired,—whilte—driving— Persons who require corrective

lenses to meet the minimum sight requirement must wear
such lenses while operating the motor vehicle.
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005.01C Adequate hearing which includes hearing of not
less than 10/20 in the better ear for conversational tone
without a hearing aid.

005.01D Ne—adeiection—te Freedom from the use of narcotics
or habit—ferming-drugs—por—the execssive—wse—of-aleoholie
beverages—eor—tiegueors illegal drugs.

005.01D1 Pre-employment drug and alcohol testing
shall be required of all drivers transporting
railroad personnel. The testing shall be done for
alcohol and controlled substances as provided by
49 CFR Parts 40 and 382 as such regulations
existed on January 1, 2013.

005.01D2 A driver shall be qualified to drive if
the alcohol test results indicate an alcohol
concentration of zero (0) and the controlled
substance test results indicate a verified
negative result.

005.01D3 A driver shall be disqualified to drive
if the alcohol and controlled substance test
results are not in compliance with 49 CFR Parts 40
and 383; or if the driver refuses to provide a
specimen for testing; or if the driver submits an
adulterated, diluted or substituted sample for the
tests to be performed.

005.01E Net—tess—than Eighteen 18 years of age. —exeept

005.01F Obtain—and—be—in Possession of a valid operator's
license appropriate for the vehicle being operated.

005.01G Ability to read, speak and understand the English
language.

005.02 Medical Certificate: Each motor carrier shall have in—its
on files a certificate of physical examination signed by a
licensed physician or a licensed physician’s assistant for every
driver in its employment, attesting that the physician or licensed
physician’s assistant has examined the driver and—feund-him to
meet the requirements in 005.01 ef—+this—artiete. Such eertificate
witt certification shall be renewed at—3east no less than every
two fewr years. Physical certificates obtained pursuant to federal
regulations ef—+the Fnterstate CommerceCommission shall meet the
requirements of this section.
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005.03 Background Check: Each operator of a motor vehicle subject
to the Commission's jurisdiction shall be subject to a criminal
background check submitted to the Commission.

005.034 Impaired Alertness: No éxiwvexr person shall éxive operate a
motor vehicle while his—e¥r—her such operator's alertness is
impaired threugh by fatigue, illness, or amy other causes.

005.045 Ateohel—ana—Prugss  Ne—driver—shall —drinle—ateohelie
] il i - e : ] £ S
atechotl—or—drugs—or—any combination—thereof+ Hours of Service: No
motor carrier shall permit or require any driver employed by such
motor carrier to drive nor shall any such driver drive (1) more
than twelve (12) hours following eight (8) consecutive hours off
duty or (2) for any period after having been on duty sixteen (16)
hours following eight (8) consecutive hours off duty.

005.06 Perm+ A logbook, im—the (Form MCS-59), as required by the

United States Department of Transportation in Section 395.8 of the -
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, wiit shall be maintained
by each driver traveling more than one hundred (100) air road
miles from the garage or terminus at which ke—er—she such driver
reports for work.

005.07 Filing: The original copy of each day's logbook sheet for

each over-the-road driver witdt shall be kept on record at the home

office or base of operations of each motor carrier in the State of

Nebraska for not less than one year. The copies wiidt shall be

filed according to the date of the logbook sheet. and—ail-—filings
11 oble £

cHitt = > > - 2 o o > o

identification- All filings shall be available for examination by
the Commission.

005.08 Maintenance By briver+—Eachover—the—road—driver—shall+
Inspection of Vehicles: The Commission may at any time, but at
least annually, inspect or cause to be inspected any vehicle
subject to its jurisdiction. The inspections may be conducted at
any place except that inspections of passenger carrying vehicles
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shall not impede or delay the schedule upon which the vehicle is
operating. The Commission may at any time enter the operating
premises of the carrier or into such vehicles as may be operated
by the carrier to ascertain whether any statute, rule, or
regulation has been violated.

she—drivons

o ] ] ] - . bed in Cl 39
Artiele 6 RRS—1043,and the omendments—thereto+ Minor Defects
in Equipment: Minor defects in equipment that are not likely to
endanger life or property may be corrected by maintenance staff of
the carrier. When the defects have been corrected, the carrier, or
its agent, shall notify the Commission that corrections have been

made.

005.10 Major Defects: If the Commission finds that a motor vehicle
under its jurisdiction is unsafe or poses a significant risk to
public safety, it may order the carrier to take the vehicle out of
service and marked as out of service until repairs have been made
and the vehicle had been re-inspected by the Commission er—Earrier
Enforeement personnel.
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shaered—ent eroeraciead thecaah e
eber—casng—and—threushone—pdy—ail
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005.151 Appeal By Carrier: A carrier, when notified by =&

compdbsodonar—exanirer or dnspecter —dn weitdae Lhe Commlssion
that a motor vehicle has been declared and marked "Out Of Service"
under the provisions of subsection 865-323 005.10 may, before the
close of the first business day following the date of such notice,
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appeal by felegraphteo—the Commissien, sending notice, by

facsimile or in person to the Commission. awmd Upon receipt of such
appeal notice, the Director of the Meter Transportation Department
of the Commission shall arrange for the assignment of an inspector
to reexamineand—inspectsaid re—-inspect or cause to have re-
inspected such vehicle within twenty-four (24) hours from date of
receipt of the appeal which shall include only those normal hours
of operation for the Commission. If upon reexamination re-—
inspection, the motor vehicle is found in serwvieceabie safe
condition and to pose no significant risk to public safety, the
Commission shall immediatety notify the carrier—at—theearrier's
expenser—by—telegraphs by telephone or facsimile that the vehicle
is no longer out of service and that the whereupen the motor
vehicle may be put into service without further delay. If £he
reexamination, upon re-inspection, the vehicle is found to be in
an unsafe condition or that the vehicle still poses a significant
risk to public safety, the Commission and—inspeectionof the motor
vehielesustains the—decisior—oaf the commissioner, —Sxaticr—or
inspeetor—the birecteor shall at—enee notify the carrier ewninger
operating who owns and operates the vehicle that the appeal frem

the—commissioner,—examiner—eor inspeetor of the finding placing the

vehicle out of service is dismissed. The vehicle may not be placed

back into service until and—upen—receipt—of the noticethe ecarrier
shall—immediately make the necessary repairs have been made and an

inspection finds that the vehicle is no longer unsafe or poses a
significant risk to public safety and the Commission certifies in
writing that the vehicle can be placed back into service. as—te
warrant—removat—oaf—the 1oUTOF SERVICE"Y sticker;—and—shatl certify

5516 Explosives—orOther HazardousMaterials— The following
T R . 1 v - loss 4 ]
hazardous—materials:

prearrangement—of—routes,—congested—thoroughfares—places
B T e o e T
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] ] i e & : o fent )
appHeatieon—of this rule;, no moter vehiecle transperting
T f11 ead ] l o
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006 EEABRIEEFY INSURANCE COVERAGE:

006.01 Minimum Amounts of Coverage: Unless otherwise provided in a
certificate of public convenience and necessity or permit issued
by the Commission, each motor carrier shall have liability
coverage at any time for any one accident, by insurance, surety
bond, self insurance, or a combination thereof, in the minimum

amoun te—shewas—ta—thoe follewipa taobler crcopt  —on v GOSN — SR RIEEE
shatlbe—reguired—to—ecarryecargo—insuranee+ as required by Rule

003.03.
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006.02 In addition to the requirements for minimum insurance as
provided in Rule 003.03, all carriers of passengers shall also
carry uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage with a minimum
limit of one hundred thousand ($100,000) per person, three hundred
($300,000) aggregate per accident coverage.

PREVIOUS SECTIONS 006.02 THROUGH 006.13 RENUMBERED AS 006.03
THROUGH

006.14 AS WELL AS ALL SUBSECTIONS:

006.03 Fype—-ofInsurance:+ All motor carrier insurance required to
be filed with the Commission widt+ shall be continuous in nature,

subject to cancellation by the insurer or the insured within
thirty (30) days written notice to the Commission. Insurance for a
specified term (e.g. six months or one year) witEt shall not be
acceptable to meet the motor carrier insurance £iling requirements
of these Cemmissien Rules.

006.04 Insurance—and—SuretyBondst+—Preefof-ecoverages Proof of
adequate coverage by insurance or bond as—reguiredby 0060+ witlt
shall be made by filingy—3m—txripiieater a uniform motor carrier
insurance filing or a uniform motor carrier surety bond filing in

1 uprinted with soy ink on recycled paperé,
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lieu of the policy of insurance or surety bond. Such filing may be
made electronically in a manner designated by the Director of
Transportation of the Commission. Upon receipt by the Commission+
the—originaloand—two—ecopies—will be——stamped—Received’s of a paper
filing, which shall be in triplicate, one copy witE shall be
returned to the home office of the insurance or surety company,
one copy witt shall be forwarded to the insured, and the original
will remain—in—the Commissieon—fites be retained by the Commission.

006.05 Types of Filings: Insurance filings shall be made on the

following designated forms unless the Director of Transportation
shall specifically authorize another type of filing: PREVIOUSLY

006.03A

006.05A All liability insurance filings widt+t shall be
either Form E, entitled: Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily
Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of
Insurance. PREVIOUSLY 006.03Al1

006.05B All liability surety bond filings widdt shall be
Form G, entitled: Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and
Property Damage Liability Surety Bond. PREVIOUSLY 006.03A2

006.05C All cargo insurance filings widtt shall be Form H,
entitlied: Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Certificate of
Insurance.

PREVIOUSLY 006.03A3

006.05D All cargo surety bond filings witt shall be Form
J, entitled: Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Surety Bond.
PREVIOUSLY

006.03n4

006.05E All insurance cancellation filings widd shall be
Form K, entitled: Uniform Notice of Cancellation of Motor
Carrier Insurance Policies. PREVIOUSLY 006.03A5

006.05F All surety bond cancellations filings widd: shall
be Form L, entitled: Uniform Notice of Cancellation of
Motor Carrier Surety Bonds. PREVIOUSLY 006.03A6

006.06 Name—eof Fasureds Each insurance policy or bond wild shall
be written in the full and correct name of the individual,
partnership, corporation, limited liability company or other
person as shown on the insured's certificate or permit. All
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partners in a partnership witd shall be named in the policy or
bond.

006.07 Eiebility—eof Insuranee Ceompany:+ Motor carrier insurance
required under #his—eartiete—witt these rules shall provide:

006.07A The liability of the insurance company witd+ shall
extend only to the insured named in the policy and kis its
employees or lessees notwithstanding any clause in the
policy providing for additional insured. PREVIOUSLY 006.05A

006.07B The liability of the insurance company witdt shall
not be affected by any provision in the policy or the
endorsement thereon or violation thereof by the insured, or
by the financial condition of the insured., PREVIQUSLY
006.05B

006.07C The insurance company wi+t shall be liable whether
the loss, damage, injury or death occurs on the route or in
the territory authorized to be served by the insured or
elsewhere in MNebrasks the state. PREVIOUSLY 006.035C

006.07D The insurance company witt shall be liable within
the limits of liability as set out in section 666+64+ 003.03
and its subsections of these rules, regardless of whether
the motor vehicles or termini, warehouses or other
facilities used in connection with the transportation of
the cargo are specifically described in the policy or not.
PREVIOUSLY 006.05D

006.07E The insurance company widt+ shall pay, within the
limits of liability set out in #6663+ section 003.03 and
its subsections of these rules, any final judgment
recovered against the insured for bodily injury to, or
death of, any person, +except employees of insured while
engaged in the course of their employment}, or loss or
damage to property of others, <except property leased or
rented by the insuredy, which results from negligent
operation, maintenance, or use of motor vehicles under the
certificates of public convenience and necessity, or permit
issued to the insured by the Commission. PREVIOUSLY 006.05E

006.07F The liability of the insurance company on each
vehicle widit shall be a continuing one notwithstanding any
recovery under the schedule of limits set out in section
6666+ 006.05. PREVIOUSLY 006.05F
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006.07G No provision contained in the policy or endorsement
thereon, or violation thereof by the insured, witdt shall
affect in any way the right of any shipper or consignee to
relieve the insurance company from liability for the
payment of any claim for which the insured may be held
legally liable to compensate shippers or consignees,
irrespective of the financial condition of the insured.
PREVIOUSLY 006.05G

006.08 Endersement: Each policy of insurance or surety bond issued
pursuant to these regulations wiltt shall be endorsed by authorized
personnel of such company.

006.09 canecellationt+ Policies of insurance, surety bonds, and the

certificates and endorsements thereof wildt shall not be eanecelied
canceled and liability widE shall not cease until after thirty
(30) days written notice by the insurer has been given to the
Commission. Such thirty (30) day period wid* shall commence on the
date the cancellation filing, as set out in section 866-063A+
006.05 is received by the Commission.

006.10 Awtherized Companies+ No insurance policy or surety bond
wiltt shall be accepted by the Commission unless written by a

company which has been granted a certificate of authority by the
Department of Insurance of the State of Nebraska; or which is a
properly registered risk retention group as authorized under the
federal Liability Risk Retention Act and the state's Risk

Retention Act, +35U-5-C——sece+——3801;—et—seqg-)—as—amended;—andNeb-
Rev—Stat—S§44—44061—et——seg—+ provided that when a carrier is,

after diligent effort, unable to obtain an insurance policy or
surety bond from an authorized company, er—aregistered—=risk
retention—greupr such carrier may obtain a policy or bond from a
non-admitted company within—the provisieons—eof Neb—Rev—Stat-
§8§44-339 to—44—347+—R-R-S-—+31943~ pursuant to the Surplus

Insurance Act.

006.11 Setf-—TInsurancer—Ouatifiecatient A carrier may apply to
qualify as a self-insurer uper by furnishing the Commission a true
and accurate statement of its financial condition and any other
evidence required by the Commission which witdt shall establish to
the Commission's satisfaction, the ability of the carrier to meet
the requirements impesed-—by of section 6860+ 003.03 and its
subsections without adversely affecting the carrier's financial
stability. Such self-insurance shall become effective only upon
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the written approval of the Commission and shall be subject to
review at the Commission's discretion.

006.12 beposit—-of Seceurities+ The Commission may require any
carrier qualifying as a self-insurer to deposit securities, in any
amount up to the requirements ef set by section 003.03 and its
subsections, 8666+ with any financial institution within this
state.

006.13 Withdrawal+ Any carrier may withdraw its qualifications as
self-insurer, upon written notice to the Commission and compliance
with the provisions of 8686-683+ section 006.04.

006.14 cemmissien Reveeatien+ The Commission may revoke its
approval of any insurance policy, surety bond, or qualification as
a self-insurer, if, in its judgment, such security no longer
complies with these regulations, or fails to provide satisfactory
or adequate protection for the public.

007 ACCOUNTING AND STATISTICAL INFORMATION:

007.01 Business Records Retention and Inspection: Each carrier
shall, for a period of one (1) year, maintain copies of records
related to the movement of passengers or household goods. All such
records shall be available to the Commission for inspection.

007.02 Notification of change of address or contact information:
All carriers shall inform the Commission of changes in address or
contact information.
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008 LEASING AND INTERCHANGE OF EQUIPMENT:

008.01 Scope: Common or contract carriers may engage in leasing
only as provided by these rules. Singte—seovree—teasingof
: L e e hich the 3 . ] :

i i : i - Failure to
observe the provisions of a lease andtor its preparation shall be
a violation of these rules. Leases filed with the Commission

pursuant—to—the provisiens—oef0B6688 in accordance with these rules

shall be retained by the Commission, the Lessor, and the Lessee
for not less than three years after cancellation of such lease.

008.02 Leasing Equipment: Common or contract carriers may lease
equipment which they do not own to augment their existing
equipment, other than that exchanged between motor carriers in
interchange service, only under the following conditions:

008.02A Each lease for the use of equipment shall:
008.02A1 Be made between the lessor and lessee.

008.02A2 Be in writing and signed by the parties
“thereto, or their duly authorized agents.

008.02A3 Specify the time period for which the
lease applies and the time, date, or circumstance
on which the lease begins and ends, the duration
of which wit} shall coincide with thé time for
giving receipts for the equipment or the vehicles
as required by 068628+ these rules.

008.02R4 Specify the compensation to be paid by
the lessee for the equipment or vehicle.

008.02A5 Provide for the exclusive possession,
control, and use of the equipment or vehicle, and
for the complete assumption of responsibility in
respect thereto by the lessee for the duration of
the lease, or otherwise may be assigned by the
lessee, in writing, to an independent contractor
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who shall operate equipment under the lessee’s
authority .

008.02A%6 Provide that the lessee shall be
responsible for carrying the insurance required by
the NPSE Commission not withstanding any agreement
between the parties that the lessor shall hold the
lessee harmless and provide certain insurance
covering the lessee.

008.02A87 Be approved by the Commission.

008.02A88 Be executed in quadruplicate, with all
copies filed with the Commission to be stamped for
approval. One copy witt shall be retained by the
Commission and the other three returned to the
lessee of which the lessee shall retain one, eep¥y
for—itself, carry one copy on the equipment or
vehicle and send the remaining copy to the lessor
for retention.

008.02B Notwithstanding the provision of rule 008.02E, a
common or contract carrier lessee of equipment or vehicles
may subsequently lease that leased equipment or vehicle to
another common or contract carrier without being in
violation of these rules if the subsequent lease also
conforms to the provisions of this section.

PREVIOUS SECTIONS 008.02B THROUGH 008.02F RENUMBERED AS
008.02C THROUGH 008.02G:

008.02C When possession of equipment is taken by lessee,
the lessee shall give to the lessor a receipt specifically
identifying the equipment and stating the date and time of
day possession thereeof is taken. When the possession by the
lessee ends, the lessee shall obtain from the lessor a
receipt specifically identifying the equipment and stating
the date and time of day possession £hereeof is taken.
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008.02D It witE shall be the duty of the lessee before
taking possession of equipment or vehicle, to inspect the
same in order to imsure ensure that said the equipment
complies with 665 the safety regulations of section 005 of
these rules. The person making the inspection wiltdt shall
certify the results thereof in a report which shall be
retained by the lessee for the duration of the lease. When
equipment other than a power unit is leased, any form of
report applicable to such equipment or vehicle may be used.
If the inspection discloses that the equipment or vehicle
does not comply with the requirements of section 005 of
these rules, possession thereefwitt shall not be taken. In
all instances in which £his inspection is made, the lessee
shall certify on the report that the person making the
inspection is competent and qualified to make such
inspection as a representative of the lessee.

008.02E The lessee shall identify the leased equipment or
vehicle during the duration of the lease imn—accordance—with
£64. Before relinquishing possession of the equipment or
vehicle to the lessor, the lessee shall remove any tegend,
PSC plates or other signs displayed on such equipment or
vehicle showing it as the operating carrier. Ifa—removable
oo e woed fodeenbie e legsee an—theeporating
carrer el aesdee shetdbeandurabde mebesda—snohoas
wood—metal—orprastier When a power unit owned by a
lessor holding operating authority from the Commission is
leased, the PSC plates and the cab card belonging to the
lessor may remain on/for in the power unit.

008.02F Before any person other than a regular employee of
the lessee is assigned to drive the equipment or vehicle
operated under these rules, the lessee shall make certain
that the driver is familiar with, and that employment does
not result in any violation of the—previsiens—ef section
005 of these rules. The driver shall furnish to the lessee
a certificate of physical examination in accordance with
section 66582 005.03 of these rules.

008.02G Each lessee who utilizes uses equipment or vehicle
under these rules shall prepare and retain for one year, a
document covering each trip for which the equipment or
vehicle is used. This document wii} shall contain the name
and address of the lessor, the point of origin, the
commodity carried, if any, the time and date of departure,
the point of final destination, and the lessee's
certificate or permit number which has been affixed to the
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equipment or vehicle. Bills of lading, way-bills, freight-
bills, manifests, or other paper identifying the lading
witt shall be carried on the equipment or vehicle during

use. These—decuments—wiltl—elearty indicate—that—the
properby s esieod de pesoer —espcpels weosopepadbd o (Coples
of these documents wild shall be kept by the lessee for not
less than three (3) years.

002.08H The use of leased equipment shall not change
operations or the relations of the parties involved as they
relate to the jurisdiction and control of the Commission.
The lessee shall continue to remain responsible to the
Commission and shall answer to the Commission for the
performance of its common or contract carrier’s
responsibilities and for the conduct of any of the drivers
with whom it has a lease.

008.03 Interchange of Equipment: For the purposes of this section,
the common or contract carrier leasing the equipment to another
common or contract carrier is referred to as the transferor, and
the common or contract carrier which takes possession of the
equipment in—the—interchange—3+s shall be referred to as the
transferee. Common or contract carriers may interchange equipment
with one or more ether common or contract carriers only under the
following conditions:

008.03A Written Agreement: The written contract, lease or
other arrangement providing for interchange, hereinafter,
referred—+te—as the written agreement, shall specify in a
readily apparent manner that it is an interchange agreement
and shall:

008.03A1 Describe specifically the equipment to be
interchanged and specify the point or points at

which the interchange is fe—takeplaeesr to occur.

008.03A2 Specify the use to be made of the
equipment and the consideration for the use.

008.03A3 Be signed by the parties to the written
agreement or their duly authorized agents. arnd

008.03A4 Be executed in quadruplicate, with all
copies filed with the Commission to be stamped for
approval. One copy wixt shall be retained by the
Commission and the other three returned to the
transferee. The transferee shall retain one copy
for itself, carry one copy on the equipment and
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send the remaining copy to the transferor for
retention.

008.03B In order to engage in the interchange of equipment,
the certificates or permits held by transferee and
transferor must authorize the transportation of the
commodities proposed to be transported imn—the mevement, and
must authorize service from and to the point where the
physical interchange occurs.

008.03C Traffic transported under interchange service witd
shall move by means of through bills of lading issued by
the originating carrier, and the rates charged and revenues
collected must be accounted for in the same manner as if
there had been no interchange of equipment. Charges for the
use of the equipment wil: shall be kept separate and
distinct from the divisions of the joint rates or the
proportions thereof accruing to the carriers.

008.03D The transferee shall have the equipment inspected
in the manner provided for in section 008.02D of these
rules. Equipment which does not comply with the safety
regulations witE shall not be operated until the defects
have been corrected.

008.03E A common or contract carrier which operates a power
unit in interchange service as the transferee shall
identify such equipment in accordance with 664 these rules.
Upon completion of the interchange agreement, the
transferee shall remove any PSC plate, legend, or signs
showing the transferee as the operating carrier before
relinquishing possession of the equipment.

008.03F A PSC plate need not be purchased by the transferee
if the PSC plate purchased for the power unit by the
transferor remains on the power unit.

008.03G The transferee of equipment on a through movement
involving two or more carriers witd shall be considered the
owner of the equipment for the purpose of leasing the
equipment for movement to destination or return to the
originating carrier.
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009 BUSES: The following provisions pertain only to carriers providing
bus service as defined in rule 003.01A et seq.:

009.01 Refusal to Carry: No driver of any vehicle which transports
passengers shall refuse to carry any person offering himself or
herself for carriage at any time at any regular stopping place who
tenders the regular fare to any regqular stopping place on the
route of such carrier, or between the termini of the route, unless
at the same time of such offer the vehicle is fully occupied or
unless the person tendering such fare is intoxicated or acting in
a disorderly manner.

009.02 Trailers: Unless specifically authorized in writing by the
Commission, no carrier shall transport passengers in a vehicle
with any trailer or other vehicle attached, except in a case where
a vehicle has become disabled while on a trip and is unable to run
on its own power, such disabled vehicle may be towed to a point
where repair facilities are available.

009.03 Aisles: Drivers shall at all times keep the aisles from
front to rear of their buses free from obstructions of any kind,
and shall not permit passengers to ride on any other part of the
vehicle other than the seats while the vehicle is in motion except
in an emergency. Passengers shall not be allowed in front of a two
inch (2") wide white line which shall be painted on the floor of
each vehicle immediately behind the driver's seat. Each vehicle
shall have a notice visible at the front of the vehicle that
passengers must remain behind the white line.

009.04 Heat: Vehicles used to transport passengers shall be
equipped with a heating system sufficient to keep the vehicle
comfortable for its passengers.

009.05 Lighting: Vehicles shall be equipped with lights of not
less than two candle power within the vehicle and so arranged as
to light up the whole of the interior except that portion occupied
by the driver.
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009.06 Emergency Exit Doors: All vehicles with a seating capacity
of eight (8) or more passengers shall have emergency exits either
in the form of push out windows, or a door on the opposite side of
the vehicle entry or at the rear of the vehicle. The door shall be
equipped with a latch which may be readily operated in an
emergency. There shall be no obstructions, either inside or
outside, which would prevent the door from being opened. The exits
shall be easily accessible to passengers.

009.07 Timetables: Each carrier who transports passengers in
regular scheduled service shall file with the Commission prior to
commencing operations, a timetable or schedule showing the time of
arrival or departure of its vehicles at each point of the route
and the number of trips made daily. When any change is made in the
table or schedule, a new table or schedule shall be filed with the
Commission. All time schedules and revisions shall be filed with
the Commission not less than ten (10) days prior to the proposed
effective date unless otherwise authorized by the Commission. No
time schedule or revision shall be effective until approved by the
Commission.

009.08 Charter Service and Special Party Service: The following
provisions apply only to charter service and special party service
as designated.

009.08A No charter or special party service shall be
conducted between the same points or over the same route so
frequently as to be construed as a regular or scheduled
service.

009.08B Special party service shall not be conducted
between points on the route of another route so frequently
as to be construed as a regular or scheduled service.

009.08C Carriers holding certificates restricted to charter
service or sightseeing operations shall be prohibited from
conducting special party operations.

009.08D Each vehicle used in charter or special party
service shall be so designated by a sign on the front of
the vehicle used for such service.

009.08E Each carrier conducting charter or special party '
service shall file with the Commission a tariff of rates
for the transportation of parties and charges for dead head
mileage which shall be approved by the Commission prior to
implementation. The tariff shall also indicate at which
points the carrier has equipment available for charter
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party service. No equipment shall be held out as available
at any non-authorized point.

010 FAXICABS ANDEFMOUSENES PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO TRANSPORTATION OF
PASSENGERS: The following provisions shall be applicable to the
transportation of passengers as designated within this section.

81601 Taxi,Limeousine and Open—Class Servieces:+ For purpeses—of
these—ruless

) o3 ! 1 ; 4 {1
based—er—per—trip—fare- THIS RULE NOW NUMBERED AS 003.01D.

taxr—imeousineandopenr class—Servicer—untessotherwise
sEeaifiads

010.01 Provisions applicable to all classifications of passenger
transportation: In addition to the other applicable Motor Carrier
rules in this chapter, the following provisions shall be
applicable to all classifications of service for the
transportation of passengers: '
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and—their baggager THIS RULE NOW NUMBERED AS 003.02B.

O gEe—He—earrier shall Transoert pessonRgers under
corntract—witth—theMobrasla—Deparkmert—eof{tHealth andtluman

1 abl : i ] Lot s .
Serviee—awthority— THIS RULE NOW NUMBERED AS 003.02C.

010.01A H836-62Bb Vehicle Title: All +axicabs—and timousines
vehicles shall be owned by, and registered in, the name of
the certificate holder, except that the certificate holder
may engage in equipment leasing as provided by these rules.
66802+

010.01B ©36-02E If a person applies for carriage and is
willing and able to tender the fare, each operator shall
convey such person to his—er—her the person's destinations+
unless:

810021 —The—vehicteis—already engageds

010.01B1 £30-62E2 The passenger 1is in such
condition of keadtth—e¥ uncleanliness that carriage
in sweh the wvehicle would be a violation of any
law.

010.01B2 £846-62E3 The sebriety-—eo¥ behavior of the
passenger is such that he—exr—she the person poses
a safety risk to the operator, other passengers,

or the vehicle is in danger of being damaged+—e=.
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010.01B3 £836-962K4 The point of origin or
destination or immediate approach therete is
impassable or dangerous. by—reasen—of any-mater
wRteresecen—eventualiEy.

010.01C 84602 F Operaters—may selicit passengers onty—at
eitv ootablished  ea] i il " :
" , T ¥ ] a } hieles

13 1 Lied . . hawking- In
addition to complying with the minimum qualifications for
driving a motor vehicle subject to Commission jurisdiction,
all operators shall:

010.01C1 Be competent to conduct the applicable
transportation service safely and courteously.

010.01C2 Not smoke inside the vehicle.

010.01C3 Shall be within the ages of twenty-one
(21) and seventy (70) except that the Commission
may waive the maximum age limit for an operator
who is over seventy (70) if the carrier desiring
to employ the operator can show that the operator
is insurable, has no medical or other disability
which prevents him or her from safely operating
the vehicle and has a satisfactory driving record.
Any such waiver shall be in writing and renewed
annually. Any application for waiver or renewal
shall be accompanied by a medical certificate
required by rule 005.02.
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010.01D 836-02K Lost articles: Each faxicab—eand limeusine
carrier shall retain articles left in vehicles by
passengers for not less than thirty (30) days. Upon request

from any passenger, the carrier shall make a reasonable
search for any article believed to have been left in a
vehicle.
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010 gomM1 T£ hiele s £ l — o
the vohic] ] i : ,
s ; e hicle shall

010.01E 636-626 Trip Log: Iimeusine All carriers shall
maintain a trip log~= which shall contain the information
prescribed in this section. Such log shall be completed
following the delivery of the passenger to his or her
destination and signed by the driver. The Commission may,
upon application and written

approval, allow for electronic filing and storing of the
information required in this section provided that all of
the information herein prescribed is included except that
the full name of the driver may be filed in place of the
signature. All records required by this section shall be
retained by the carrier for a period of two (2) years from
the date of the transportation of the passenger.

HH=R2at—The teog—shaldl—eceontainhe—fellowing
Feferinattters

010.01E1 The log shall contain the following
information:

010.01Ela £46-626+a The name of the individual
engaging the—timeusine or hiring the vehicle and
his or her address.

010.01Elb 6466201tk The address of the point
where the passenger was picked up ef—piekup and
the point of destination and the times they
occurred.

6300261+ TFhe—hours—of service—contracted—Fors
anea
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010.01Elc 846-6eodd The amount charged and
collected.

010.01F Receipt: Upon demand of any passenger, a receipt
for services shall be given at the time of payment. Such
receipt shall contain the name of the company, the name of
the operator, the vehicle fleet number, the total amount
paid, and the date of payment.

010.01G Complaints: Every vehicle shall have a notice

posted, clearly legible and visible from the passenger
compartment, which reads:

"DIRECT COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE OPERATION
QF THIS VEHICLE TO:

The Nebraska Public Service Commission
300 The Atrium, 1200 N Street
Lincoln, Nebraska 68508
1-800-526-0017 (Nebraska)
1-402-471-3101 (Lincoln)"

010.02 Provisions Applicable Only to Those Carriers Providing
Taxicab Service: The following provisions apply only to those
carriers who are authorized to provide taxicab service:
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010.02A If a person applies for carriage and is willing and
able to tender the fare, the operator shall convey such
person to his or her destination subject to rule 010.01B,
or unless the vehicle is already engaged.

010.02B Operators may solicit passengers only at taxicab
stands established by the city, while seated in the
driver's seat, or while standing beside the vehicle.
Passengers shall not be solicited by outcries or hawking.

010.02C Carriers shall comply with all applicable municipal
ordinances relating to the qualification of taxicab
operators which are not in conflict with these rules.

010.02D The number of passengers carried by a vehicle shall
not exceed seven persons, including the driver, or the
rated capacity of such vehicle as prescribed by the maker
of the vehicle, whichever is smaller. Whenever any vehicle
is occupied by a fare-paying passenger, the operator shall
not permit any other person to occupy the vehicle except
with the consent of the fare-paying passenger. Passengers
shall be informed of this provision by a card, posted
inside the vehicle, stating the schedule of rates and
charges for the vicinity in which the vehicle is operated
and in the following form:

O+ PROVISOINS FOR—TPAXICARS ONEY

"FOR YOUR PROTECTION:

You, as the first passenger in this taxicab, are the one to
decide who wit* shall ride with you. Unless it is at your
request or with your consent, this cab driver is prohibited
by law from accepting additional passengers. Schedule of
rates authorized for taxicabs operating in (Name of Town)
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is (Copy from commission order setting rates for that
vicinity) .

(Name of Company)"

8+1-6+R 010.02E Each vehicle widit shall be operated over
the most direct and—reasenablte route from point of piekup

of passengers passenger pickup to the point of destination
of passengers.

S fde 010, 02F MebwdiskbetanddreSthe poeosdsdons of 004 04
each—taxiecab Fach carrier shall have its full or trade name
and assigned ®B"™ application number permanently placed on
each side of the faxieak vehicle in letters at least two
inches (2") high. The word "taxicab" shall also appear
conspicuously on the sides of the vehicle unless the word
"cab", “taxi” or "taxicab" is included within the name of
the carrier. The fleet number of each vehicle shall be
displayed in figures not less than two inches (2") high in
the forward part of the passenger compartment and also on
the sides and rear of each vehicle. None of the markings
described in this subdiwisien rule shall be placed on any
glass or on the bumper of the £essieab vehicle.

833-03FE 010.02G Each vehicle shall be equipped with:

8140481+ 010.02Gl A dome light within the
passenger compartment of the vehicle capakle of
being turned on or off by passengers, or
controlled by operation of the doors+—and.

30452 010.02G2 An identity light attached to
the top of the vehicle. The light shall be in one
unit consisting of an illuminated plate or
cylinder upon which is printed the word "taxicab",
"taxi", "cab", "for hire", or the owner's trade
name. The size of such light shall not exceed
eight inches (8") in height nor twenty-three
inches (23") in length. %eadding Loaded or bug
lights may be attached to the upper portion of a
vehicle. If used, such lights shall be smaller
than the identity light and shall be illuminated
when the vehicle is engaged.
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H633-631F 010.02H A carrier which operates in municipalities
of fifteen thousand (15,000) persons or more, as determined
by the official U.S. Census, or between municipalities not
more than five (5) miles apart, whose aggregate population
exceeds fifteen thousand (15,000) persons, shall equip its
vehicles with taximeters satisfacteory—to—theCommission.
The Commission may, at any time, require any carrier
operating in any community of less than fifteen thousand
(15,000) persons peputatiern to equip its vehicles with
taximeters. Taximeters are subject to the following
specifications:

64+4-63+F+ 010.02H1 No taximeter shall be operated
without first having been inspected, tested,
approved and sealed by a—representative-of +the
Cemmissieon the Commission or a duly authorized
representative of the taxicab company.

83+-04F2 010.02H2 Each meter shall be sealed
during the time the vehicle is in the service of
the taxicab carrier. Each meter shall be sealed
with either a wire and lead seal bearing the
letters "NPSC," or, at the

discretion of the Commission representative, with
a sticker bearing the letters "NPSC." This seal
witt shall be affixed only by a person duly
authorized by the Commission.

84+3-63+F3 010.02H3 Taximeters shall be mounted and
connected to the transmission or speedometer in an
approved manner. In—ease—of dashboard meuntingsr
Where mounted on the dashboard of a vehicle, the
meter shall be located so as not to obstruct the
view of the operator or cause undue hazard to
passengers. All taximeters shall be placed so that
the dial or faceplate showing the amount charged
is well lighted and readily visible to passengers
riding in the vehicle.

0+1-6+F4 010.02H4 Periodic tests of meters shall
be made by representatives—of the Commission. A
meter with an error in registration not exceeding
three percent (3%) of the distance covered by each
meter drop shall be considered correct and
accurate. Otherwise, the requirements for approval
of, and methods for, testing the taximeters witd

shall conform to Speeifiecations—and Tolerances—of
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FTaximeters' as—set—out—in specifications
established by the National Bureau of Standards.
Hermeks oo —Hd—2pddsa— 1 0s b ae amesdeds.

843-64F5 010.02HS5 After a meter has been tested,
approved and sealed, a different tire size shall
not be affixed to the vehicle without re-testing
the meter.

£+1-01F6 010.021I Each +axieab vehicle shall be equipped
with a device er—deviees+ visible to the public from the
outside of the vehicle which indicates whether it is in
service or for hire and a device visible to a passenger
inside which indicates whether the taximeter is in position
to record a fare.

Gl Otte—Yas b e o—tho—guh Ao rew— B
outoido of K  cab—hich indd

11 G1FEb—Vieib L
e e Tl el e i) ]

g \ . o |
e

010.02J Each operator shall be identified by a card,
displayed in full view of the passengers, bearing the name
and photograph of the operator and the taxicab carrier's
address.

010.02K No vehicle shall be equipped with shades, curtains,
or window-tinting which shields the occupants or the
operator from observation.

010.03 Provisions That Apply to the Transportation Contractors of
the Department of Health and Human Services and Like Agencies: A
contractor of the Nebraska Department of Health and Human
Services, hereinafter, the Department, or any of the agencies
contracting with the Department, or for any agency organized under
the Nebraska Community Aging Services Act, who is not certificated
or permitted by the Commission providing transportation for the
Department or such agencies shall certify on a form provided by
the Commission that the provider meets the minimum operator
standards, insurance requirements and equipment standards
prescribed by the Commission in these rules.

010.03A Driver requirements: A Department transportation
provider must certify that:
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010.03A1 The person is the individual who shall
personally drive the vehicle in question.

010.03A2 The person is at least nineteen (19)
years of age or an emancipated minor.

010.03A3 The person possesses a current operator's
permit issued by any state.

010.03A4 The person has knowledge of Nebraska
state and local traffic rules and the rules of the
road.

010.03A5 The person has no more than three (3)
points assigned against their driver's license.

010.03A6 The person shall not smoke in the
vehicle.

010.03A7 The person is competent to conduct the
service carefully and dependably.

010.03A8 The person does not use illegal drugs.

010.03A9 The person is not aware of any mental or
physical limitation which would impose a threat to
the health or well-being of the passengers.

010.03B Insurance: A Department provider must maintain the
minimum automobile liability insurance coverage as required
by these rules and state law.

010.03C Equipment Standards: A Department transportation
provider must certify that:

010.03C1 The person has current and valid plates
and registration.

010.03C2 The person shall ensure that each vehicle
shall, at all times, be kept in proper physical
and mechanical condition including, but not
limited to, operable seat belts, turn signals,
lights and horn, child passenger restraint devices
as required by law, and comfortable temperature
and ventilation conditions.

010.03D Self-Certification: All such self-certification
filings shall be made with the Commission and filed for

prinied with soy ink on recycled paper &)



SECRETARY’S RECORD, NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Rule and Regulation #182 Page 76

record and be available for public inspection during the
regular business hours of the Commission. Such filings
shall be continuous in nature unless canceled by the
Department.

010.03E The Commission shall, upon application of any
certificated motor carrier or the Department, hear any
dispute between the same with regard to the contested
ability of the motor carrier to provide a specific service
in a given case. The parties may agree to an informal
conference between the carrier, the Department, and the
Commission to facilitate a mutually agreeable resolution.
If the parties cannot come to an agreement, either party
may file a formal complaint with the Commission in a manner
provided for in the rules of Commission procedure.

011 VOLUNTARY SUSPENSIONS: Certificated motor carriers seeking to
suspend service pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §75-316, must apply for
and obtain Commission approval of such suspension. The certificated
motor carrier must provide the Commission with an application
identifying the certificate of public convenience and necessity held
by said motor carrier and setting forth the length of time the carrier
wishes to place its authority under voluntary suspension. The
Commission may approve the carrier's request for the time period
requested for a period not exceeding a twelve (12) month increment. In
no event shall the carrier's authority be suspended for more than
twenty-four (24) consecutive months.
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