Nebrazka Jublic Service Commission

COMMISSIONERS: ROD JOHNSON FRANK E. LANDIS CRYSTAL RHOADES MARY RIDDER TIM SCHRAM

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:

MICHAEL G. HYBL



300 The Atrium, 1200 N Street, Lincoln, NE 68508
Post Office Box 94927, Lincoln, NE 68509-4927
Website: psc.nebraska.gov
Phone: (402) 471-3101
Fax: (402) 471-0254

NEBRASKA CONSUMER HOTLINE: 1-800-526-0017

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PRE-APPLICATIONS ACCEPTED FOR NEBRASKA INTERNET ENHANCEMENT FUND

LINCOLN, OCTOBER 17, 2017— The Nebraska Public Service Commission is now taking preapplications from counties and municipalities wishing to apply for grants from the <u>Nebraska Internet Enhancement Fund (NIEF)</u>.

Pre-applications will be accepted beginning today, Tuesday, October 17-through -Friday, November 10. The Commission utilizes pre-applications to determine whether potential projects meet the requirements for a NIEF grant award.

Established in 2001 by the Nebraska Legislature, the NIEF uses a share of the proceeds from public entities that lease dark fiber optics to fund grants for infrastructure projects that deliver broadband or other advanced telecommunications products throughout the state. The grants focus on areas of the state that are unserved or underserved by such services. The standard amount awarded to successful grant applicants is \$50,000.

Pre-applications are required before an invitation to submit a formal application is issued. The formal application period will begin on December 11, with final awards for the new grant period to be made in March.

To obtain a pre-application form or find more information about the NIEF grant program visit the Public Service Commission (PSC) website at www.psc.nebraska.gov or contact the PSC at 1-800-524-0017.

Previous NIEF grants have been awarded to the Nebraska Cooperative Government, the communities of Bushnell, Chappell, Dix and Elsie and the Counties of Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Dawes, Furnas, Harlan and Nemaha. ###

Contact:

Deb Collins- Media & Communications Mgr. (402) 471-0226 deb.collins@nebraska.gov