Nebrazka Hublic Service Commission

COMMISSIONERS: ROD JOHNSON FRANK E. LANDIS CRYSTAL RHOADES MARY RIDDER TIM SCHRAM

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:
JEFFREY L. PURSLEY



300 The Atrium, 1200 N Street, Lincoln, NE 68508
Post Office Box 94927, Lincoln, NE 68509-4927
Website: psc.nebraska.gov
Phone: (402) 471-3101
Fax: (402) 471-0254

NEBRASKA CONSUMER HOTLINE: 1-800-526-0017

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PSC CHAIRMAN APPOINTED TO NARUC LEADERSHIP POSITION

LINCOLN, FEBRUARY 10, 2017— Nebraska Public Service Commission (PSC) Chairman Commissioner Tim Schram has been appointed as Co-Vice Chairman of the Committee on Telecommunications for the <u>National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners</u> (NARUC). He was appointed to the position by NARUC President Robert F. Powelson.

Elected to the PSC in 2006, <u>Commissioner Schram</u> was re-elected to a second six-year term representing District 3 in 2012, and currently serves as the Commission Chairman, a position he has held three time since 2006. He was appointed to NARUC in 2008 and serves on the Committee for Telecommunications under the direction of Chairman Paul Kjellander, Idaho Public Utilities Commissioner.

"I want to thank NARUC President Powelson for this appointment," said Commissioner Tim Schram, Chairman Nebraska Public Service Commission. "The Committee on Telecommunications plays an essential role in evaluating emerging policy issues. I look forward to continuing to work with Chairman Kjellander, Co-Vice Chair Gregg Sayre and the entire committee as we strive to make reasonable regulation to ensure quality services to our consumers."

NARUC's eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal, and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members.

Founded in 1989 NARUC is a non-profit organization dedicated to representing the state public service commissions who regulate the utilities that provide essential services such as energy, telecommunications, power, water and transportation. ###

Contact:

Deb Collins- Public Information Coordinator

(402) 471-0226 deb.collins@nebraska.gov