NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

COMMISSIONERS:

ANNE C. BOYLE ROD JOHNSON FRANK E. LANDIS TIM SCHRAM GERALD L. VAP

ACTING DIRECTOR: JOHN BURVAINIS



300 The Atrium, 1200 N Street, Lincoln, NE 68508 P.O. Box 94927, Lincoln, NE 68509-4927 Website: www.psc.nebraska.gov

Phone: 402-471-3101 Fax: 402-471-0254

NEBRASKA CONSUMER HOTLINE:

1-800-526-0017

PRESS RELEASE

December 11, 2012

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

STEVE MERADITH JOINS NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION AS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

LINCOLN -- The Nebraska Public Service Commission today announced that Steve Meradith will serve as their new Executive Director effective January 1, 2013. The Chairman of the Commission, Rod Johnson of Sutton, said that "Steve's extensive knowledge of the telecommunications industry will serve the Commission well."

Steve has served as a consultant/lobbyist for Consortia Consulting, in addition to serving in various positions from 1980-2012 for Windstream Communications, ALLTEL Communications, Aliant Communications, Lincoln Telecommunications Company and Lincoln Telephone Company.

Mr. Meradith graduated from the University of Nebraska in 1979 with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. He served with the Nebraska Army National Guard from 1970-1982. He has served on the Board of Directors of the Nebraska Telecommunications Association, Missouri Telecommunications Industry Association, Aliant Credit Union, Cedars Youth Services Foundation and the Nebraska State Stroke Association. He is also a past member of the Nebraska Universal Service Fund Advisory Board, the American Institute of Certified Internal Auditors and the Downtown Lincoln Sertoma Club.

The Public Service Commission is comprised of five elected Commissioners and a staff of 41 employees with responsibility for regulating activities in the telecommunications, natural gas, transportation, grain warehousing, and manufactured housing industries. The Commission administers the Enhanced 911 implementation for wireless telephone users, Telecommunications Relay System (TRS), Nebraska Universal Service Fund and Major Oil Pipeline Regulation Act. Meradith will be managing the staff under the guidance of the five member Commission.

Meradith succeeds Mike Hybl who was named Chief of Staff for Senator-elect Deb Fischer in Washington, DC after serving the Commission for five years.

###